Search form

John Bailey Re-Elected as Academy President

Organization’s Board of Governors also selected officers for six committee chairs in its annual leadership vote.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences last night announced that current president John Bailey was re-elected to serve a second yearlong term. The Board of Governors also selected officers for six committee chairs:

  • Lois Burwell, first vice president (chair, Awards and Events Committee)
  • Sid Ganis, vice president (chair, Museum Committee)
  • Larry Karaszewski, vice president (chair, Preservation and History Committee)
  • Nancy Utley, vice president (chair, Education and Outreach Committee)
  • Jim Gianopulos, treasurer (chair, Finance Committee)
  • David Rubin, secretary (chair, Membership and Administration Committee)

Bailey is beginning his second term as president and his fifteenth year as a governor representing the Cinematographers Branch. His tumultuous first term was marked by a continued ratings slide for the annual Oscar telecast – viewership fell 20% from 2017 to 26.5 million, representing the lowest figure in history – personal allegations of harassment, for which Bailey was eventually cleared, as well as former Fox executive Bill Mechanic’s blistering letter of resignation from the Board of Governors, in which he lambasted the Academy on a host of issues, including a lack of relevance and continued diversity problems.

Burwell, Gianopulos, Rubin and Utley were re-elected to their posts. Ganis, who returned to the board this year, served as Academy president from 2005-2009. This will be the first officer stint for Karaszewski.

Bailey is the first cinematographer to hold the position of Academy president. His credits include Ordinary People, American Gigolo, The Big Chill, Groundhog Day, As Good as It Gets, The Anniversary Party, The Way Way Back and A Walk in the Woods.

Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.

Source: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Dan Sarto's picture

Dan Sarto is Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network.