Search form

‘Negative Space’ Takes Top Honor at KLIK!

Amsterdam-based festival presented honors in 18 categories to close out 10th edition of festival.

Negative Space won the Best Animated Short Frankie at the 2017 edition of KLIK! Amsterdam Animation Festival. The winners in 18 categories were announced Oct. 21 at an awards ceremony during the festival, which closed Oct. 22.

The full list of awards winners:

  • 'Negative Space,' by Max Porter and Ru Kuwahata won the Best Animated Short honor at KLIK! Amsterdam Animation Festival 2017.

    Best Animated Short: Negative Space, by Max Porter & Ru Kuwahata

  • Best Animated Student Short: Flower Found, by Jorn Leeuwerink
  • Best Commissioned Animation: Spectacle of the Real, by Hulk Limbo Inc.
  • Best Animated Music Video: Mark Lotterman - Happy, by Alice Saey
  • Best Animated Documentary: Broken — The Women’s Prison at Hoheneck, by Volker Schlecht & Alexander Alexander
  • Best Animated Virtual Reality: In Memory, by Bob Los
  • Best Animated Short by an Emerging Nation: Ayny, by Ahmad Saleh
  • Best Animated Political Short: Life Cycles, by Ross Hogg
  • Best Funny & Trippy Toon: Wrestler, by Kwak Kihyuk
  • Best Animation for Art Lovers: Extrapolate, by Johan Rijpma
  • NL Award for Craftsmanship: Cuckoo, by Michaël Veerman
  • NL Award for Good Looks: Scrambled, by Bastiaan Schravendeel
  • NL Award for Emotional Impact: Bei Mir Bist Du Schön, by Bouwine Pool
  • Best Voices in a Commissioned Animation: Girl Effect (.org) — Invisible Barriers, by Mustashrik Mahbub
  • Audience Award: Yin, by Nicolas Fong
  • Young Audience Award Kids 3-5: The Sled, by Olesya Shchukina
  • Young Audience Award Kids 6-9: Jubile, by C. Piogé, C. Soudet, M. Duvert, M El Kadiri, A. Marmion
  • Young Audience Award Kids 10-12: Short but Sweet, by Junaid Chundrigar

Source: KLIK! Amsterdam Animation Festival

Thomas J. McLean's picture

Tom McLean has been writing for years about animation from a secret base in Los Angeles.