Search form

73rd Annual ACE Eddie Awards Nominees Revealed

‘The Bad Guys,’ ‘Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio,’ ‘Marcel the Shell with Shoes On,’ ‘Puss in Boots: The Last Wish,’ and ‘Turning Red’ are nominated in the animated features category; winners will be announced at the March 5 awards ceremony.

American Cinema Editors (ACE) announced nominations for the 73rd Annual ACE Eddie Awards, recognizing outstanding editing in 14 film, television, and documentary categories. The winners will be announced during the ACE Eddie Awards on Sunday, March 5, 2023, at UCLA’s Royce Hall.

The nominees are: 

Best Edited Feature Film (Drama, Theatrical):

  • All Quiet on the Western Front - Sven Budelmann, BFS
  • Elvis - Matt Villa, ACE ASE, and Jonathan Redmond
  • Tár - Monika Willi
  • Top Gun: Maverick - Eddie Hamilton, ACE
  • The Woman King - Terilyn A. Shropshire, ACE

Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy, Theatrical):

  • The Banshees of Inisherin - Mikkel E.G. Nielsen, ACE
  • Everything Everywhere All at Once - Paul Rogers
  • Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery - Bob Ducsay, ACE
  • The Menu - Christopher Tellefsen, ACE
  • Triangle of Sadness - Ruben Östlund and Mikel Cee Karlsson 

Best Edited Animated Feature Film (Theatrical or Non-Theatrical):

  • The Bad Guys - John Venzon, ACE
  • Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio - Ken Schretzmann, ACE, and Holly Klein
  • Marcel the Shell with Shoes On - Dean Fleischer-Camp, and Nick Paley
  • Puss in Boots: The Last Wish - James Ryan, ACE
  • Turning Red - Nicholas C. Smith, ACE

Best Edited Documentary (Theatrical):

  • All the Beauty and the Bloodshed - Amy Foote, Joe Bini, and Brian A. Kates, ACE
  • Fire of Love - Erin Casper and Jocelyne Chaput
  • Good Night Oppy - Helen Kearns, ACE, and Rejh Cabrera
  • Moonage Daydream - Brett Morgen
  • Navalny - Langdon Page and Maya Hawke

Best Edited Documentary (Non-Theatrical):

  • The Andy Warhol Diaries: “Collab: Andy & Basquiat” - Steve Ross
  • George Carlin's American Dream - Joe Beshenkovsky, ACE
  • The Last Movie Stars: “Luck is an Art” - Barry Poltermann
  • Lucy and Desi - Robert A. Martinez
  • Pelosi in the House - Geof Bartz, ACE

Best Edited Multi-Camera Comedy Series:

  • The Conners: “Of Missing Minds and Missing Fries” - Brian Schnuckel, ACE
  • How I Met Your Father: “Timing Is Everything” - Susan Federman, ACE
  • The Neighborhood: “Welcome to the Art of Negotiation” - Chris Poulos 

Best Edited Single Camera Comedy Series:

  • Atlanta: “Andrew Wyeth. Alfred's World.” - Kyle Reiter, ACE, and Isaac Hagy, ACE
  • Barry: “710N” - Franky Guttman
  • Barry: “Starting Now” - Ali Greer
  • The Bear: “System” - Joanna Naugle
  • Only Murders in the Building: “I Know Who Did It” - Shelly Westerman, ACE, and Payton Koch

Best Edited Drama Series:

  • Andor: “One Way Out” - Simon Smith
  • Euphoria: “Stand Still Like the Hummingbird” - Aaron I. Butler, ACE, and Julio Perez IV, ACE
  • Euphoria: “The Theater and Its Double” - Laura Zempel, Julio Perez IV, ACE, and Nikola Boyanov
  • Severance: “In Perpetuity” - Geoffrey Richman, ACE, and Erica Freed Marker, ACE
  • Severance: “The We We Are” - Geoffrey Richman, ACE

Best Edited Feature Film (non-theatrical):

  • Fire Island - Brian A. Kates, ACE
  • Hocus Pocus 2 - Julia Wong, ACE
  • A Jazzman's Blues - Maysie Hoy, ACE
  • Prey - Angela M. Catanzaro, ACE, and Claudia Castello 
  • Weird: The Al Yankovic Story - Jamie Kennedy

Best Edited Limited Series:

  • Gaslit: “Year of the Rat” - Joe Leonard, ACE
  • Obi-Wan Kenobi: “Part VI” - Kelley Dixon, ACE, and Josh Earl, ACE
  • Station Eleven: “Unbroken Circle” - Anna Hauger, ACE, David Eisenberg, Yoni Reiss, and Anthony McAfee
  • The White Lotus: “Abduction” - Heather Persons, ACE
  • The White Lotus: “Arrivederci” - John M. Valerio ACE

Best Edited Non-Scripted Series:

  • Deadliest Catch: “Sailor's Delight” - Isaiah Camp, ACE, Joe Mikan, ACE, and Alexander Rubinow, ACE
  • Formula 1: Drive to Survive: “Hard Racing” - Cassie Bennitt, Matt Rudge, Duncan Moir, Nic Zimmermann, Jack Foxton, and Neil Clarkson 
  • Vice: “Killing for Success & Marcos Returns” - Paula Salhany, Brandon Kieffer, Andrew Pattison, Catherine Lee, and Victoria Lesiw

Best Edited Variety Talk/Sketch Show or Special:

  • A Black Lady Sketch Show: “Save My Edges, I'm A Donor!” - Stephanie Filo, ACE, Bradinn French, Taylor Mason, and S. Robyn Wilson
  • Last Week Tonight with John Oliver: “Police Interrogations” - Anthony Miale, ACE, and Ryan Barger
  • My Next Guest Needs No Introduction with David Letterman: “Volodymyr Zelenskyy Special” - Cori Wapnowska, and Jon Higgins

Best Edited Animated Series:

  • Big Mouth: “Dadda Dia!” - Felipe Salazar
  • Bob's Burgers: “Some Like It Bot Part 1: Eighth Grade Runner” - Jeremy Reuben, ACE
  • Love, Death & Robots: “Bad Travelling” - Kirk Baxter, ACE

Anne V. Coates Award For Student Editing:

  • Adriana Guevara - New York University
  • Jazmin Jamias - American Film Institute
  • Tianze Sun - American Film Institute

Source: American Cinema Editors

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is news editor at Animation World Network.