Search form

Winners Announced for Animafest Cyprus 2022

Michalis Papanicolaou’s ‘Crocodrilo-Ta oneira tou tempeli drakou' takes top honors with both the Cypriot Professional Film and Audience Awards; Wendy Tilby and Amanda Forbis' 'Flying Sailer' wins for Best Narrative Film.

The 21st edition of Countryside Animafest Cyprus had its closing ceremony August 13 after four successful days of screenings and artistic events. This year’s edition included 41 international and 19 Cypriot films in competition, five music events, two exhibitions, workshops, installations, and a children's film program.

This year’s jury consisted of Elizabeth Hobbs (UK), Clémence Bragard (France), and Lucija Mrzljak (Croatia).

The winners are:

Grand Prix Dimitris Eipides:

  • Sierra by Sander Joon (Latvia 2022)

Best Narrative Film:

  • Flying Sailor by Wendy Tilby, Amanda Forbis (Canada 2022)

Best Non-Narrative Film:

  • Anxious Body by Yoriko MizushiriI (France, Japan 2021)

Cypriot Professional Film:

  • Crocodrilo-Ta oneira tou tempeli drakou by Michalis Papanicolaou (Cyprus 2021)

Cypriot Student Film:

  • Water Film by Maria Katerina Ieridou (Cyprus 2022)

Special Mention:

  • Persona by Sujin Moon (South Korea 2022)

Audience Awards:

  • Crocodrilo-Ta oneira tou tempeli drakou by Michalis Papanicolaou (Cyprus 2021)
  • ERMA by Angelos Charalambous (Cyprus 2021)
  • Letter to a Pig by Tal Kantor (France, Israel 2022)

Source: Animafest Cyprus

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is news editor at Animation World Network.