Search form

Winners Announced for 7th International Emmy Kids Awards

Seven winners span five countries: Brazil, Norway, Sweden, The Netherlands & The United Kingdom.

Job Roggeveen, Joris Oprins and Marieke Blaauw of Dutch animation studio Job, Joris & Marieke win a statuette for their short film ‘Kop op’ (‘Heads Together’) at the 7th International Emmy Kids Awards at MIPTV.

CANNES, France -- The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has announced the winners of the 7th International Emmy Kids Awards at a ceremony held on Tuesday at content development and distribution market MIPTV, now underway in Cannes.

Winning programs from Brazil, Norway, Sweden, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom are Hey Duggee – Season 2 from Studio AKA (Kids: Preschool); Kop op (Heads Together) from Viking Film/VPRO Television/Job, Joris & Marieke (Kids: Animation); Overgrep (Sexual abuse awareness week) from NRK/Bivrost Film & TV (Kids: Digital); My Life: Born To Vlog from Blakeway North (Kids: Factual); Fixa Bröllopet (Marrying mum and dad) from Fremantlemedia Sverige AB/Sveriges Television AB (Kids: Non-Scripted Entertainment); Malhação: Viva a Diferença (Young Hearts) from Globo (Kids: Series); and Ratburger from King Bert Productions (Kids: TV Movie/Mini-Series).

“This is a difficult world for children to grow up in, with an increasing list of social problems and enormous change.” said International Academy President, Bruce L. Paisner. “The winning programs help entertain, educate and prepare our children for the world they are about to face. This is an honorable task.”

The Emmy statues were presented on stage by an international cast of TV personalities including Mira Awad, creator of the Series Muna, which is about a young Arab woman living in Tel Aviv, and Finnish Actor Pelle Heikkilä. Industry executives from around the world attended the event, held at the Carlton Hotel, in Cannes, France during MIPTV. The International Emmy Kids Awards presenting partners are TV Kids, Ernst & Young and MIPTV in development kids.

The full list of winners at the 7th International Emmy Kids Awards is shown below:

Kids: Preschool

Hey Duggee – Season 2
Studio AKA (United Kingdom)

Hey Duggee – a place for children to have fun, be energetic, and most of all to do things! Based around a children’s playgroup called The Squirrel Club, Hey Duggee is run by a big dog called Duggee. The Squirrel Club is a place where kids have adventures and earn badges.

Executive Producers: Sue Goffe, Jackie Edwards, Henrietta Hurford-Jones
Producer: Janine Voong
Director: Grant Orchard
Writers: Sam Morrison, Jo Clegg, Sander Jones, Diggy Hicks-Little

Kids: Animation

Kop op (Heads Together)
Viking Film / VPRO Television / Job, Joris & Marieke ()Netherlands

A story about three friends who exchange heads by accident and are forced to adapt to each other’s life. Will they be able to keep it secret? And will they ever get their own head back?

Executive Producer: Marleen Slot (Viking Film)
Producers: Marleen Slot (Viking Film), Job Roggeveen (Job, Joris & Marieke), Joris Oprins (Job, Joris & Marieke), Marieke Blaauw (Job, Joris & Marieke)
Directors: Job Roggeveen, Joris Oprins, Marieke Blaauw
Writers: Lotte Tabbers, Job Roggeveen, Joris Oprins, Marieke Blaauw
Principal Cast: Steye van Dam, Paulien Cornelisse, Nasrdin Dchar

Kids: Digital

Overgrep (Sexual abuse awareness week)
NRK / Bivrost Film & TV (Norway)

During one week in November, NRK used all available channels to open a dialogue about sexual abuse. After extensive research and consultation with specialists, they adopted a direct approach to tackling this difficult topic.

Executive Producer: Cathrine Simonsen
Producers: Joakim Vedeler, Trond Jacobsen
Directors: Tonje Voreland, Marianne Müller, Christoffer Alve
Writers: Marianne Müller, Espen Thorkildsen
Principal Cast: Clara Penzo-Fasting, David Aleksander Sjøhol

Kids: Factual

My Life: Born To Vlog
Blakeway North (United Kingdom)

Twelve-year-old Nikki Lilly is not your average social media vlogger. Called a “monster” and “disgusting” due to a rare, life threatening medical condition, Nikki has defied the bullies and medical expectation. Filmed over one extraordinary summer, Nikki proves why she has a global following and inspires so many.

Executive Producers: Sarah Murch
Producer: Launa Kennett
Director: Launa Kennett
Writer: Launa Kennett
Principal Cast: Nikki Lilly Christou

Kids: Non-Scripted Entertainment

Fixa Bröllopet (Marrying mum and dad)
Fremantlemedia Sverige AB / Sveriges Television AB (Sweden)

In Fixa bröllopet the kids have the power to decide details of their parents’ wedding – the parents don’t know anything until the wedding day! Everything is top secret until the actual ceremony. The kids are assisted by our hosts Alexander Hermansson and Caroline Hermansson.

Executive Producers: Björn Östlund, Christoffer Lantz
Producer: Tomas Schubert
Directors: Tomas Schubert, Theo Bolin
Writers: Tomas Schubert, Theo Bolin
Principal Cast: Alexander Hermansson, Caroline Hermansson

Kids: Series

Malhação: Viva a Diferença (Young Hearts)
Globo (Brazil)

During a subway malfunction, five girls get stuck in the same car and one of them goes into labor. The other girls work together to help her. Despite their different backgrounds, experiences and personalities, the new friends will discover how enriching it can be to live, confront and celebrate diversity.

Executive Producer: Paulo Silvestrini
Producer: Fabiana Moreno
Director: Paulo Silvestrini
Writer: Cao Hamburger
Principal Cast: Gabriela Medvedovski, Daphne Bozaski, Manoela Aliperti, Heslaine Vieira, Ana Hikari, Matheus Abreu, Lúcio Mauro Filho, Juan Paiva, Aline Fanju, Bruno Gadiol, Ângelo Antônio, Malu Galli, Marcello Antony

Kids: TV Movie/Mini-Series

King Bert Productions (United Kingdom)

When Zoe discovers a baby rat in her bedroom, they quickly become firm friends, especially when she discovers he is no ordinary rat – he can dance. Zoe wants to show off his skill at the school talent show, but her stepmother and shifty burger man Burt have other ideas.

Executive Producers: Jo Sargent, Jon Mountague
Producer: Joanna Hanley
Director: Matt Lipsey
Writers: David Walliams, Kevin Cecil
Principal Cast: David Walliams, Sheridan Smith, Talia Barnett, Mark Benton, Nigel Planer, Sir Michael Gambon, Sophie Thompson, Sarah Hadland, Jocelyn Jee Esien, Harish Pat

Source: International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.