Search form

Watch the 46th Annual Annie Awards LIVE on February 2!

This Saturday’s black-tie ceremony recognizing the year’s best in the field of animation to be streamed live on the Annie Awards website.

Saturday, February 2 at UCLA’s Royce Hall, recognizing the year’s best in the field of animation.

The black-tie ceremony -- covering 36 categories including Best Animated Feature, Best Animated Feature-Independent, Special Productions, Commercials, Short Subjects, Student Films and Outstanding Individual Achievements, as well as the honorary Juried Awards -- will be streamed live on the Annie Awards website beginning at 7:00PM Pacific/10:00PM Eastern:

This year’s Best Animated Feature nominations include Early Man (Aardman Animations), Incredibles 2 (Pixar Animation Studios), Isle of Dogs (Fox Searchlight Pictures/Indian Paintbrush/American Empirical Pictures), Ralph Breaks The Internet (Walt Disney Animation Studios) and Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (Sony Pictures Animation). In the Best Animated Feature - Independent category, spotlighting features with a much smaller distribution footprint than major studio releases, the nominees are This Magnificent Cake! (Ce Magnifique Gâteau!) (Beast Animation, Vivement Lundi!, Pedri Animation), MFKZ (Ankama/Studio 4ºC), Mirai (Studio Chizu), Ruben Brandt, Collector (Hungarian National Film Fund) and Tito and the Birds (Bits Productions, Split Studio).

The full list of nominations in all 36 categories can be viewed here.

Juried Awards will also be presented honoring unparalleled achievement and exceptional contributions to animation. Three Winsor McCay Award recipients have been selected by the ASIFA-Hollywood Board of Directors for their exemplary industry careers -- Academy Award-winning director, animator and art director, Ralph Eggleston; Frank Braxton (posthumously), the first African-American animator, animation director and guild president; and casting director, voice director and voice actress Andrea Romano.

The June Foray Award will be presented to veteran animator Adam Burke (posthumously) for his significant and benevolent impact on the animation community. Ton Roosendaal, Dutch software developer and film producer, will accept the Ub Iwerks Award for Blender Open Source Animation Software; and a Certificate of Merit will be presented to dedicated ASIFA volunteer, Jason Jones.

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.