Search form

The Visual Effects Society Announces 2021 Board of Directors’ Officers

Lisa Cooke was named board chair and is the first woman elected to lead the organization; other officers include Emma Clifton Perry, David Tanka, Jeffrey Okun, and Gavin Graham.

The Visual Effects Society (VES) has announced its 2021 board of directors’ officers. The officers, who comprise the VES Board Executive Committee, were elected at the January 2021 board meeting. The officers include Lisa Cooke, who was elected board chair, and is the first woman to hold this role in the organization’s history. Before joining the VES Board of Directors, Cooke served six years on the VES Bay Area Board of Managers Executive Committee as chair.

“The Society is proud to have exceptional leadership represented on our executive committee,” commented VES executive director Eric Roth. “This is a group of impassioned and venerated professionals with a vision for the Society’s future, especially amidst this time of dynamic change. We appreciate their commitment to serve our organization and our members worldwide.” 

Cooke, the new committee chair, has spent several decades in the entertainment industry as an animation/FX industry producer, story consultant, screenwriter, and actor. Founder of Green Ray Media, she has spent her last 10+ years producing animation and VFX to create scientific, medical, and environmental media for a broad audience. Her extensive client list has included Lucasfilm; Fox; Nickelodeon Films; ABC; CBS; Paramount; Universal; Pixar; Digital Animations Group; and Tippett Studios. While serving as senior producer at Reardon Studios she helped bring MOVA Contour Reality Capture to the film industry.

“It is my great honor and privilege to chair this society of exceptional artists and innovators,” added Cooke.  “I’m proud to be the first woman in this role, and I'm committed to lifting up our future leaders, so that I'm not the last." I look forward to working with the executive committee and board of directors to support our members during these challenging times and advance the work to propel the Society and the industry forward.”

The 2021 Officers of the VES Board of Directors are:

  • Chair: Lisa Cooke
  • 1st Vice Chair: Emma Clifton Perry
  • 2nd Vice Chair: David H. Tanaka
  • Treasurer: Jeffrey A. Okun, VES

Source: Visual Effects Society