Search form

VIEW Conference 2021 to Honor Sir Roger Deakins

The Oscar-Winning cinematographer, best known for ‘The Shawshank Redemption,’ ‘Blade Runner 2049,’ and ‘1917’ has been named the 2021 VIEW Visionary Award recipient; a special interview with Deakins and ‘How to Trail Your Dragon’ writer, director and producer Dean DeBlois is set for October 20.

The VIEW Conference has announced that Sir Roger Deakins will receive this year’s VIEW Visionary Award. The Oscar-winning cinematographer’s films include The Shawshank Redemption, Blade Runner 2049 and 1917. Previous recipients of the award, presented for outstanding contribution to the visual arts, include pioneering visual effects supervisor Dennis Muren, animated feature director Nora Twomey and Pixar designer/director Ralph Eggleston.

Mark your calendars for October 20, 2021, at 12:00pm PDT when as part of the VIEW Visionary Award celebrations, Deakins will take part in an exclusive one-on-one interview with Dean DeBlois, the director of animated features including Lilo & Stitch and How to Train Your Dragon. The legendary cinematographer will discuss highlights from his long and illustrious career, offering insight into the creative genius that has made him one of the world’s most sought-after and respected DPs.

“Roger Deakins is one of the true living legends of filmmaking,” shared conference director Dr. Maria Elena Gutierrez. “Throughout his career, he has captured some of the most iconic and memorable images ever committed to the screen, from Tim Robbins exulting in the rain in The Shawshank Redemption, to Ryan Gosling exploring a dust-shrouded Las Vegas in Blade Runner 2049. Roger’s unique vision is unparalleled, and it is a privilege to honor his achievements at VIEW Conference 2021 by presenting him with this year’s VIEW Visionary Award.”

VIEW Conference 2021 takes place October 17-22 online and in-person in Turin, Italy. The international conference is Italy’s premiere event for animation, VFX and computer graphics, where industry professionals, students and enthusiasts are invited to enjoy an inspiring week of talks, presentations, and workshops. In addition, online access opens this year’s event to a global audience.

About Roger Deakins:

Deakins CBE is an English cinematographer, best known for collaborating with directors Denis Villeneuve, Sam Mendes, and the Coen brothers. He is a member of the British Society of Cinematographers and the American Society of Cinematographers and has received five BAFTA Awards for Best Cinematography. Nominated 15 times for an Academy Award for Best Cinematography, he has won twice for Blade Runner 2049, and 1917. His best-known films are The Shawshank Redemption; Fargo; O Brother; Where Art Thou?; A Beautiful Mind; Skyfall; Sicario; Blade Runner 2049; and 1917. The American Society of Cinematographers gave Deakins a Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011, and in 2013 he was bestowed a CBE by the Palace for his services to film. In the 2021 New Year Honors he was knighted as a Knight Bachelor.

About Dean DeBlois:

Golden Globe winner and two-time Academy Award nominee DeBlois is best known for writing, directing, and executive producing 2010’s How to Train Your Dragon and its 2014 sequel. He served in those same roles on How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (2019), the final installment of the trilogy and culmination of the popular animated franchises. Prior to collaborating on the original How to Train Your Dragon with Chris Sanders, the pair wrote and directed Walt Disney Animation Studios’ Lilo & Stitch (2002), after first serving as co-heads of story on Mulan (1998). DeBlois has also written and sold various live-action feature film projects to Disney and Universal Studios. He has directed music films and documentaries, most notably 2007’s indie critical darling Sigur Rós: Heima. His continued collaboration with Sigur Rós frontman Jónsi has led to the singer-songwriter’s contributions to the How to to Train Your Dragon soundtracks. Dean is a graduate of Sheridan College’s animation program and was awarded an honorary degree in 2016. He is a member of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences, The Writers Guild, and ASIFA.

Purchase tickets for VIEW Conference 2021 here.

Source: VIEW Conference 2021