Search form

TV Academy Announces Creative Arts Emmy Award Winners

‘Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal,’ ‘Love, Death + Robots,’ and ‘The Mandalorian’ are among the honorees at this weekend’s three separate awards ceremonies; FXX will broadcast edited highlights on Saturday, September 18, with the 73rd Emmys telecast airing September 19 on CBS.

In a series of three separate awards ceremonies held this past weekend, Netflix was the big winner, followed by Disney+, at the Creative Arts Emmys. FXX will broadcast edited highlights from the Saturday and Sunday events on Saturday, September 18. The 73rd Emmys telecast will air next Sunday, September 19, on CBS.

Netflix took home a total of 34 awards, almost three times that of Disney+’s next highest haul of 13. You can read all about the ceremonies, as well as find full lists of winners, here. As the list of awards is extensive, a selection of relevant winners to AWN’s audience is as follows:

Outstanding Animated Program

Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal • Plague of Madness • Adult Swim • Cartoon Network Studios

Genndy Tartakovsky, Executive Producer/Directed by
Brian A. Miller, Executive Producer
Jennifer Pelphrey, Executive Producer
Keith Crofford, Executive Producer
Mike Lazzo, Executive Producer
Oussama Bouacheria, Executive Producer
Julien Chheng, Executive Producer
Ulysse Malassagne, Executive Producer
Erika Forzy, Executive Producer
Shareena Carlson, Supervising Producer
Darrick Bachman, Head Writer
David Krentz, Written by/Story by
Bryan Andrews, Story by

Outstanding Short Form Animated Program

Love, Death + Robots • Ice • Netflix • Blur Studio for Netflix

David Fincher, Executive Producer
Tim Miller, Executive Producer
Jennifer Miller, Executive Producer
Joshua Donen, Executive Producer
Andrew Ruhemann, Executive Producer
Cara Speller, Executive Producer/Produced by
Victoria Howard, Supervising Producer
Philip Gelatt, Teleplay by
Robert Valley, Directed by
Jennifer Yuh Nelson, Supervising Director

Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance

Maya Rudolph as Connie The Hormone Monstress Big Mouth – “A Very Special 9/11 Episode” Netflix

Outstanding Special Visual Effects in a Single Episode

Star Trek: Discovery – Su'kal Paramount+ CBS Studios in association with Secret Hideout and Roddenberry Entertainment

Jason Michael Zimmerman, Supervising Producer/Lead VFX Supervisor
Ante Dekovic, VFX Supervisor
Aleksandra Kochoska, VFX Producer
Charles Collyer, Lead VFX Artist
Alexander Wood, On Set VFX Supervisor
Ivan Kondrup Jensen, VFX Supervisor Ghost VFX
Kristen Prahl, VFX Producer Ghost VFX
Toni Pykalaniemi, VFX Supervisor DNEG
Leslie Chung, VFX Supervisor Crafty Apes

Outstanding Special Visual Effects In A Season Or A Movie

The Mandalorian Disney+, Lucasfilm Ltd.

Joe Bauer, Visual Effects Supervisor
Richard Bluff, Visual Effects Supervisor
Abbigail Keller, Visual Effects Producer
Hal Hickel, Animation Supervisor
Roy K. Cancino, Special Effects Supervisor
John Knoll, ILM Visual Effects Supervisor
Enrico Damm, Environments Visual Effects Supervisor
John Rosengrant, Legacy Effects Supervisor
Joseph Kasparian, Hybride Visual Effects Supervisor

Outstanding Main Title Design

The Good Lord Bird Showtime, SHOWTIME Presents Blumhouse Television, Mark 924 Entertainment, Under the Influence Productions

Efrain Montanez, Director/Creative Director
Eduardo Guisandes, Art Director/Designer
Abigail Fairfax, Illustrator/Animator

Outstanding Production Design For A Narrative Period Or Fantasy Program (One Hour Or More)

The Queen's Gambit Netflix

Uli Hanisch, Production Designer
Kai Karla Koch, Art Director
Sabine Schaaf, Set Decorator

Outstanding Production Design For A Narrative Program (Half-Hour)

WandaVision Disney+

Mark Worthington, Production Designer
Sharon Davis, Art Director
Kathy Orlando, Set Decorator

Outstanding Sound Editing for a Comedy or Drama Series (Half-Hour) and Animation

Love, Death + Robots • Snow in the Desert • Netflix • Blur Studio for Netflix

Brad North, Supervising Sound Editor/Dialogue Editor
Craig Henighan, Sound Designer
Dawn Lunsford, Foley Editor
Jeff Charbonneau, Music Editor
Alicia Stevens, Foley Artist

Previously announced juried award winners include:

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation

Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal • Plague of Madness • Adult Swim • Cartoon Network Studios
David Krentz, Storyboard Artist

Love, Death + Robots • Ice • Netflix • Blur Studio for Netflix
Robert Valley, Production Designer

Love, Death + Robots • Ice • Netflix • Blur Studio for Netflix
Patricio Betteo, Background Artist

Love, Death + Robots • All Through the House • Netflix • Blur Studio for Netflix
Dan Gill, Stop Motion Animator

Love, Death + Robots • Automated Customer Service • Netflix • Blur Studio for Netflix
Laurent Nicolas, Character Designer

The Simpsons • Wad Goals • FOX • A Gracie Films Production in association with 20th Television Animation
Nik Ranieri, Lead Character Layout Artist

Outstanding Motion Design

Calls • Apple TV+ • Apple / Studiocanal / Bad Hombre Productions in association with CANAL+

Alexei Tylevich, Creative Director
Ethan Stickley, Designer/Animator
Scott Ulrich, Animator
Daisuke Goto, Animator
Chi Hong, Animator
James Connelly, Editor

Source: The Television Academy