Search form

TV Academy Announces 2016 Juried Animation Award Winners

Sixty-eighth Emmy Awards to honor production designer Jason Kolowski, storyboard artist Tom Herpich, animation production designer Jason Carpenter, background designer Chris Tsirgiotis and character animator Scott DaRos for Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation.

NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA -- The Television Academy has announced the juried award winners in Animation for the 68th Emmy Awards. The juried awards for Animation will be presented on Sunday, September 11, at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, California. This year’s juried winners include:

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation 

  • Adventure Time * Bad Jubies * Cartoon Network * Cartoon Network Studios in association with Bix Pix Entertainment
    Jason Kolowski, Production Designer
  • Adventure Time * Stakes Pt. 8: The Dark Cloud * Cartoon Network * Cartoon Network Studios
    Tom Herpich, Storyboard Artist
  • He Named Me Malala * National Geographic Channel * Fox Searchlight Pictures in association with Image Nation Abu Dhabi and Participant Media
    Jason Carpenter, Animation Production Designer
  • Long Live The Royals * Punk Show * Cartoon Network * Cartoon Network Studios
    Chris Tsirgiotis, Background Designer
  • Robot Chicken DC Comics Special III: Magical Friendship * Adult Swim * Stoopid Buddy Stoodios
    Scott DaRos, Character Animator

Juried categories require all entrants to be screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer group, with the possibility of one, more than one, or no entry being awarded an Emmy. As a consequence, there are no nominees but rather a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant’s work, with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy. At the conclusion of each deliberation, the jury considers the question, “Is this entry worthy of an Emmy award -- yea or nay?” Only those with unanimous approval win.

The 2016 Creative Arts Emmy Awards, executive produced by Bob Bain, will be held over two nights at the Microsoft Theater from 5:00 PM - 7:30 PM on both Saturday, September 10, and Sunday, September 11. FXX will broadcast the awards on Saturday, September 17, from 8:00 - 10:30 PM (ET/PT) with an encore from 10:30 PM - 1:00 AM (ET/PT).

Source: Television Academy

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.