Search form

Toei’s ‘World Trigger’ Global Livestream Watch Party January 30

Studio invites fans to join a special online event celebrating the popular sci-fi series featuring video and messages from the Japanese cast, screenings of episodes 1 & 2 of the new season, and post-episode discussions and giveaways.

On the heels of the recent worldwide premiere of World Trigger Season 2, Toei Animation Inc. will host its first-ever virtual “Global Livestream Watch Party,” on Saturday, January 30. Anime fans worldwide can come together for this special simulcast event on Toei Animation’s U.S. Facebook and YouTube channels

Hosted by social media personalities Justin Rojas (HomeCon/Envy Gaming) and Lisa Wallen (Kawaii Five-O Podcast), the event will include a series introduction and special video message from Japanese cast members Tomo Muranaka (Yūma Kuga); Kenta Tanaka (Sumiharu Inukai); Toshiyuki Toyonaga (Ratarykov); and Ayumu Murase (Reghindetz) followed by a screening of World Trigger Season 2 Episodes 1 & 2 (in Japanese with English subtitles) followed by post-episode discussions and promotional giveaways.

Based on the sci-fi action manga serialized by Shueisha, World Trigger was originally released by Toei Animation as a 73-episode series in 2014-2016. To produce Seasons 2 & 3, Toei Animation brought together a new series director, Morio Hatano (Dragon Ball Super - Future Trunks saga), with original voice cast and key members of the original staff including Hiroyuki Yoshino (series composition writer for Eps 1-48), Kenji Kawai (music composer), and Toshihisa Kaiya (character designer).

Season 2: The Border Defence Agency was established to counter the attacks from the “Neighbors,” beings from another other world possessing unknown forces. A low rank border agent teams up with a neighbor and a childhood friend. Together they attempt to win the Rank Wars within the Border in hopes of being selected for the away squads that journey to the Neighborhood.  Meanwhile, another attack from the Neighborhood hits Mikado City while the city is still reeling from the damage suffered during a large-scale invasion by the largest military nation, Aftokrator. Trying to prevent panic among the people of the city, the Border secretly deploys A-Rank elite squads. But when a Gate appears and Attacker rank #1 is set into action, they are faced with an ominous future.

This two-hour fan event, Saturday, January 30, starts at 5:00 pm Pacific/ 8:00 pm Eastern on Saturday. International local times include: 7:00 pm Mexico City, 10:00 pm São Paulo, 2:00 am Paris (Sunday) and 12:00 pm Sydney (Sunday).

Source: Toei Animation Inc.

randomness