Search form

‘Tenet,’ ‘Soul’ Take Home Critics Choice Awards

Warner Bros.’ reverse-action sci-fi thriller and Pixar’s look at a Black jazz musician’s reflection on his own life and what makes it worth living were honored by the Critics Choice Association at their 26th annual ceremony.

The Critics Choice Association (CCA) announced their 26th annual Critics Choice Awards last night in an in-person / virtual hybrid event broadcast live on The CW, hosted for the third time by film, television, and stage star Taye Diggs. 

Christopher Nolan and Warner Bros.’ Tenet took home honors for Best Visual Effects, while Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, and Jon Batiste took home the Best Score award for their work on Disney / Pixar’s Soul, directed by Pete Docter and Kemp Powers.   

Nomadland led the winners in the film categories, taking home four awards including Best Picture, Best Director and Best Adapted Screenplay for Chloé Zhao, and Best Cinematography for Joshua James Richards.  Zhao is the first Chinese woman to win as either director or writer.

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom followed closely behind, winning three categories including Best Actor for the late Chadwick Boseman, Best Costume Design, and Best Hair and Makeup.  Best Actress was awarded to Carey Mulligan for Promising Young Woman, which also earned a Best Original Screenplay win for Emerald Fennell.  Best Supporting Actor went to Daniel Kaluuya for Judas and the Black Messiah, and Best Supporting Actress to Maria Bakalova for Borat Subsequent Moviefilm.  

After leading the nominations, Netflix also won the most awards of any studio/network with a total of 14.  Amazon Studios and Searchlight Pictures each won four.

Critics Choice Awards are given each year to honor the finest in cinematic and television achievement.  Historically, they are the most accurate predictor of Academy Award nominations.  

For a complete breakdown of all the winners, click here.

The winner and nominations for Best Visual Effects:

  • Greyhound (Apple TV+)
  • The Invisible Man (Universal Pictures)
  • Mank (Netflix)
  • The Midnight Sky (Netflix)
  • Mulan (Disney)
  • WINNER - Tenet (Warner Bros.)
  • Wonder Woman 1984 (Warner Bros.)

The nominations for Best Score:

  • Alexandre Desplat – The Midnight Sky (Netflix)
  • Ludwig Göransson – Tenet (Warner Bros.)
  • James Newton Howard – News of the World (Universal Pictures)
  • Emile Mosseri – Minari (A24)
  • Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross – Mank (Netflix)
  • WINNER - Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, and Jon Batiste – Soul (Disney)

Source: Critics Choice Association

Dan Sarto's picture

Dan Sarto is Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network.