Search form

Television Academy Announces Juried Winners for 73rd Emmy Awards

‘Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal,’ ‘Love, Death + Robots,’ and ‘The Simpsons’ are honored for outstanding individual achievement in animation, to be presented at the upcoming 2021 Creative Arts Emmy Awards running September 11-12.

The Television Academy has announced award winners for the 73rd Emmy Awards in juried categories from Animation and Motion Design. These juried awards will be presented at the 2021 Creative Arts Emmy Awards, which take place at L.A. LIVE the weekend of Sept. 11 and 12 at 5:00 PM on Saturday and at 1:00 PM and 5:00 PM on Sunday. An edited presentation will be broadcast on Saturday, Sept. 18, (8:00 PM ET/PT) on FXX.

This year’s juried winners are:

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation

The juried awards bestowed for Individual Achievement in Animation reflect the variety of artistic achievements that contribute to the creation of 2D- and 3D-animated content and the talented artists who drive animation excellence.

Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal • Plague of Madness • Adult Swim • Cartoon Network Studios
David Krentz, Storyboard Artist

Love, Death + Robots • Ice • Netflix • Blur Studio for Netflix
Robert Valley, Production Designer

Love, Death + Robots • Ice • Netflix • Blur Studio for Netflix
Patricio Betteo, Background Artist

Love, Death + Robots • All Through the House • Netflix • Blur Studio for Netflix
Dan Gill, Stop Motion Animator

Love, Death + Robots • Automated Customer Service • Netflix • Blur Studio for Netflix
Laurent Nicolas, Character Designer

The Simpsons • Wad Goals • FOX • A Gracie Films Production in association with 20th Television Animation
Nik Ranieri, Lead Character Layout Artist

Outstanding Motion Design

“The work of this motion design team was innovative and original and truly carried the narrative like nothing we had ever seen,” said Greg Kupiec, motion and title design governor. “This Emmy-winning work encourages others to continue raising the standard of motion design and to bring awareness of the art and significance of motion design in creating television excellence,” added Governor Lauraine Gibbons.

Calls • Apple TV+ • Apple / Studiocanal / Bad Hombre Productions in association with CANAL+
Alexei Tylevich, Creative Director Ethan Stickley, Designer/Animator Scott Ulrich, Animator
Daisuke Goto, Animator Chi Hong, Animator James Connelly, Editor

Juried category entrants are screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer groups (Animation and Motion Design) with the possibility of one, more than one or no entry being awarded an Emmy. There are no nominees but instead a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant's work with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy.

Source: The Television Academy