Search form

TAIS 12th Annual Animation Showcase Finalists Announced

18 films to be screened in two 45-minute animated short film programs.

TORONTO -- On Saturday, July 28th, the Toronto Animated Image Society (TAIS) will present the 12th Annual TAIS Animation Showcase, a summer night of animated dreams: two 45-minute programs of short animated films, the results of the 2018 Anijam competition, and a new commissioned work by Amanda Low.

Featuring 18 short animated films, the finalists in this year’s program are diverse in style and content. Including themes of self-love and aspiration, loss and struggle, narratives of deception, community and connection, and playful experimental works exploring form and sound, this year’s program proudly features films from 6 different countries: Canada, USA, Costa Rica, UK, China, and Taiwan.

This program is for mature audiences only.

Awards will be given – as selected by the audience, and by a guest jury of animation artists: Amy Lockhart, Paloma Dawkins, and Rory Waudby-Tolley. The audience will select an ‘Audience Choice – Short Film’ and ‘Audience Choice – Best Anijam’. The jury will award a ‘Grand Prize – Best of the Showcase’ award, and a ‘Jury’s Best Anijam’ award.

Also featured is TAIS’ FAN FICTION Anjiam competition. With 12 entries this year, these 10-second animations are mash-up masterpieces, with creative never-before-seen combos that hint at unique universes filled with familiar characters. For the second year in a row, the Showcase Jury’s pick for Best Anijam will be awarded a cash prize and in-kind studio use toward production of a short-animated project for presentation at TAIS Showcase in 2019. The audience will also decide a Best Anijam Audience Award on the night of the screening.

Featuring Anijams by Chris Jack (Toronto), Kathryn Wehrle (Toronto), Mawrgan Shaw (Toronto), Tommy Truong (Vaughan), Lynn Dana Wilton (Unionville), Miguel Bettencourt (York), Paul Scott (Toronto), Tami Poliwoda (Thornhill), Lucas Gilberson (Calgary), Vivian Saad (São Paulo, Brazil), Mike Robbyns (Toronto), Alvaro Giraldo (Lima, Perú).

The event is set for Saturday July 28th - 8:00PM at The Royal Cinema - 608 College Street, Toronto. Tickets are $10 advance / $12 door / $8 door for TAIS members.   

The 12th Annual Animation Showcase finalists are:

Una Di Gallo - Canada, 1:47, 2018, 2D hand drawn

Chen Yen-Liang - Taiwan, 4:07, 2017, hand drawn

Simone Northey - Canada, 3:34, 2018, stop-motion, TAIS Member

Cow Palace
Julian Gallese - Costa Rica, 2:25, 2018, 2D hand drawn, TAIS Member

Haley and Joanna
Laura Hodkin - United Kingdom, 2:46, 2018, hand drawn

Lady Strips
Adrienne Mountain - Canada, 4:16, 2018, hand drawn

Maybe it’s me
Dimitris Simou - United Kingdom, 6:08, 2017, 3D

New Math
William Allinson - Canada, 4:12, 2017, stop motion, TAIS Member

Jeron Braxton - United States, 6:04, 2018, 3D

Pete the Peacock
Amanda Low - Canada, 2:52, 2018, 2D and hand drawn, TAIS Member

Melissa Ferrari - United States, 6:50, 2017, hand painted

Reach the Sky
Daniel Sterlin-Altman - Canada, 5:50, 2018, stop motion, TAIS Member, Not in juried competition

Lei Lei - China, 5:32, 2017, paint on glass

Super Serious Satsuma
Trang Nguyen - United Kingdom, 1:10, 2018, hand drawn

The Curious Tale of Aunt Binks
Gentle Giants - Canada, 7:43, 2018, stop motion

The Missing Pig
Cecilia Corzo - United Kingdom, 4:04, 2018, hand drawn

the Thing is Lost
Arash Akhgari - Canada, 2:31, 2018, hand drawn experimental

True North
George Bowler - United Kingdom, 7:55, 2017, hand drawn

Source: TAIS