Search form

SVA Announces 2013 Dusty Festival Winners

Winners are announced for the 2013 edition of the New York School of Visual Art’s Dusty Film & Animation Festival and Awards.

Bagelwolf by Deanna DeMaglie

New York’s School of Visual Arts has announced the winners of the 24th annual Dusty Film & Animation Festival and Awards, which ran this year March 4-7.

The 2013 animation award recipients were Sara Ho’s Crabby Day, which took home honors for Outstanding Achievement in Traditional Animation and Traditional Character Design, Michele Malecki’s Catastrophe for Traditional Production Design, and Deanna DeMaglie’s Bagelwolf for Stop Motion Animation. The full list of winners can be found at

Crabby Day by Sara Ho:

The Dusty Film & Animation Festival was established with the mission of introducing films made by BFA Film, Video & Animation Department thesis students to a wider audience, and was named after SVA Founder Silas “Dusty” H. Rhodes. Presenters at the awards ceremony on Tuesday included Melissa Leo, Geoffrey Fletcher, Andrew Jarecki, Lisa Jackson, Fred Seibert, Peter C. Frank, Frank Gresham and Chris Newman and host Valerie Smaldone.

Source: School of Visual Arts

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.