Search form

'Subconscious Password', 'Rio 2096' Win Cristal Awards at Annecy

Prizewinning films are announced at the 2013 edition of the International Animation Film Festival in Annecy, with Brazil’s Uma história de amor e fúria (Rio 2096: A Story of Love and Fury) taking home the Cristal Award for Best Feature, and Chris Landreth's Subconscious Password taking home the Cristal for Best Short.



As the curtain comes down on the 2013 edition of the International Animation Film Festival in Annecy, France, festival organizers have announced the prizewinning films.

A total of 236 films were presented in competition, selected from a total of 2,460 entries.

The full list of winners is shown below:

The Cristal for Best Feature


Uma história de amor e fúria (Rio 2096: A Story of Love and Fury) Luiz Bolognesi Brazil Buriti Filmes, Gullane

The Cristal for Best Short


Subconscious Password (Jeu de l'inconscient) Chris Landreth Canada ONF, Copper Heart Entertainment Production

The Cristal for Best TV Production


Room on the Broom (“En route!” dit la sorcière) Jean Lachauer, Max Lang Great Britain Magic Light Pictures

The Cristal for Best Commissioned Film


Dumb Ways to Die Julian Frost Australia McCann Melbourne


Special Distinction

Ma maman est en Amérique, elle a rencontré Buffalo Bill (My Mommy Is in America and She Met Buffalo Bill) Marc Boréal, Thibaut Chatel France, Luxembourg Label Anim, Melusine Productions, Studio Canal

Audience Award

O Apóstolo (L’Apôtre)Fernando Cortizo Rodriguez Spain Artefacto Producciones


Special Jury Award

Obida (The Wound) Anna Budanova Russia Studio Ural-Cinema

Distinction for a first film

Trespass Paul Wenninger Austria

“Jean-Luc Xiberras” Award for a first film

Norman Robbe Vervaeke Belgium Cinnamon Entertainment

Special Distinction

Kolmnurga afäär (The Triangle Affair) Andres Tenusaar Estonia

Sacem Award for original music

Lonely Bones Rosto Netherlands

Junior Jury Award for a short film

Feral Daniel Sousa USA

Audience Award

Lettres de femmes Augusto Zanovello France Pictor Media, XBO Films


Special Award for a TV series

Tom & The Queen Bee Andreas Hykade Germany Studio Film Bilder

Award for best TV special

L’Automne de Pougne (Poppety in the Fall) Pierre-Luc Granjon, Antoine Lanciaux France Foliascope, Carpediem Film & TV, ONF


Special Jury Award

Benjamin Scheuer “The Lion” (Benjamin Scheuer “Le Lion”)Peter Baynton Great Britain


Award for best graduation film

Ab ovo Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqv Poland The Polish National Film, Television and Theatre School

Special Jury Award

I Am Tom Moody Ainslie Henderson Great Britain Edinburgh College of Art

Special Distinction

Pandy (Pandas)Matus Vizar Slovakia BFILM, FAMU

Junior Jury Award for a graduation film Nyuszi és Oz (Rabbit and Deer)Peter Vacz Hungary Mome


Unicef Award Because I’m a Girl (Parce que je suis une fille) Raj Yagnik, Mary Matheson, Hamilton Shona Great Britain

Fipresci Award Gloria Victoria Theodore Ushev Canada ONF

Fipresci Special Distinction Feral Daniel Sousa USA

“CANAL+ creative aid” Award for a short film Autour du lac Carl Roosens, Noémie Marsily Belgium Zorobabel

Festivals Connexion Award – Région Rhône-Alpes with Lumières Numériques Feral Daniel Sousa USA

The Funniest Film according to the Annecy public

KJFG No 5 Alexey Alekseev Hungary Studio Baestarts

Source: International Animation Film Festival

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.