Search form

Studio Ghibli Fest 2022 Returns to Theaters this Spring

The animation slate features classic films including the 20th anniversary screening of ‘The Cat Returns,’ and the critically acclaimed ‘Ponyo;’ tickets are now on sale for screenings through Fall 2022.

It’s not too late to get in on Studio Ghibli Fest 2022 which kicked off earlier this month. The upcoming slate of animated classics for 2022 includes the Oscar- nominated fantasy epic Howl's Moving Castle, and the critically acclaimed Ponyo. Celebrating its 20th anniversary, The Cat Returns, returns to the big screen. Rounding out the series, Only Yesterday, from Academy Award-nominated director and Studio Ghibli co-founder Isao Takahata joins the lineup for its first nationwide North American theatrical release. The program runs in U.S. cinemas throughout the fall.

"The team at Fathom Events is thrilled to kick off Studio Ghibli Fest for the fifth time," noted Fathom Events CEO Ray Nutt. "We're not only excited to bring these cherished films to the big screen for dedicated fans of animation but we're also proud of our long-standing relationship with GKIDS. It's going to be a great series!”

Each event will be shown in both original Japanese and English dubbed versions and will include exclusive bonus content. Tickets are now available online by visiting FathomEvents.com, GhibliFest.com or at participating theater box offices. (Theaters and participants are subject to change).

Check out the series trailer:

Studio Ghibli Fest 2022 Schedule:

All event listings are in local time

Ponyo

  • Sunday, May 15, 2022 - 3:00 PM Local Time (English Dubbed)
  • Monday, May 16, 2022 - 7:00 PM Local Time (Japanese with Subtitles)
  • Wednesday, May 18, 2022 - 7:00 PM Local Time (English Dubbed)

The Cat Returns 20th Anniversary:

  • Sunday, June 26, 2022 - 3:00 PM and 7:00 PM Local Time (English Dubbed)
  • Monday, June 27, 2022 - 7:00 PM Local Time (Japanese with Subtitles)

Kiki’s Delivery Service:

  • Sunday, July 31, 2022 - 3:00 PM Local Time (English Dubbed)
  • Monday, August 1, 2022 - 7:00 PM Local Time (Japanese with Subtitles)
  • Wednesday, August 3, 2022, 7:00 PM Local Time (English Dubbed)

Only Yesterday:

  • Sunday, August 28, 2022 - 3:00 PM and 7:00 PM Local Time (English Dubbed)
  • Monday, August 29, 2022 - 7:00 PM Local Time (Japanese with Subtitles)

Howl’s Moving Castle:

  • Sunday, September 25, 2022 - 3:00 PM Local Time (English Dubbed)
  • Monday, September 26, 2022 - 7:00 PM Local Time (Japanese with Subtitles)
  • Wednesday, September 28, 2022 - 7:00 PM Local Time (English Dubbed)

Spirited Away:

  • Sunday, October 30, 2022 - 3:00 PM Local Time (English Dubbed)
  • Tuesday, November 1, 2022 - 7:00 PM Local Time (Japanese with Subtitles)
  • Wednesday, November 2, 2022, 7:00 PM Local Time (English Dubbed)

Source: Fathom Events

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is assistant news editor at Animation World Network.