Search form

‘Star Trek: Prodigy’ Heading to Netflix This Christmas

20 episodes of the popular but canceled Paramount+ animated series will stream at its new home on December 25. 

Trekkies rejoice: Netflix has ensured you can introduce your kids into the Star Trek franchise legacy with Star Trek: Prodigy, the first Star Trek series aimed at younger audiences. Alas, it was a dark time after Paramount+ cancelled the series, even after it received a Season 2 greenlight. But now, for the holidays, the streamer announced during Geeked Week 23’ that Christmas Day (December 25) will mark the streaming debut of all 20 Season 1 episodes. Season 2 is also heading your way in 2024!

Star Trek: Prodigy follows a motley crew of young, lawless alien teens who must figure out how to work together while navigating a greater galaxy in search of a better future. They commandeer a derelict Starfleet ship, which they know nothing about, but over the course of their adventures together, they will each be introduced to Starfleet and the ideals it represents. And who doesn’t love a motley crew of anything?

The voice cast includes Kate Mulgrew (Hologram Kathryn Janeway), Brett Gray (Dal), Ella Purnell (Gwyn), Rylee Alazraqui (Rok-Tahk), Angus Imrie (Zero), Jason Mantzoukas (Jankom Pog), Dee Bradley Baker (Murf), John Noble (The Diviner) and Jimmi Simpson (Drednok). Also featured in the series are recurring voice cast members Daveed Diggs (Commander Tysess), Jameela Jamil (Ensign Asencia), Jason Alexander (Doctor Noum), Robert Beltran (Captain Chakotay) and Billy Campbell (Thadiun Okona).

Star Trek: Prodigy is developed by Emmy Award winners Kevin and Dan Hageman (Trollhunters, Ninjago), along with Alex Kurtzman and his team at Secret Hideout. Star Trek: Prodigy is from CBS Studios’ Eye Animation Productions; Nickelodeon Animation; Secret Hideout; and Roddenberry Entertainment. Kurtzman, Heather Kadin, Aaron Baiers, Rod Roddenberry, and Trevor Roth serve as executive producers, alongside co-showrunners Kevin and Dan Hageman. Ben Hibon directs, executive produces, and serves as the creative lead of the animated series. Aaron Waltke and Patrick Krebs also currently serve as co-executive producers.

The series received a 2023 TCA Award nomination for “Outstanding Achievement in Family Programming” along with a 2022 Children’s and Family Emmy Award nomination for Outstanding Animated Series, and production designer Alessandro Taini won the award for Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation.

Source: Netflix

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is news editor at Animation World Network.