Search form

‘Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse’ Voted Best Animated Feature by LA and NY Film Critics

Sony Pictures Animation’s new Marvel superhero adventure takes top award from both groups; Hayao Miyazaki honored with Career Achievement Award. 

In voting that took place yesterday, both the L.A. Film Critics Association and New York Film Critics Online selected Sony Pictures Animations’ Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse as the year’s Best Animated Feature. In their respective annual awards voting, the group of 38 top New York City film critics, along with 58 Los Angeles-based professional film critics, each chose Sony’s new Marvel superhero comic adventure as the year’s best animated film. In addition, the L.A. critics honored Oscar-winning director Hayao Miyazaki with their Career Achievement Award – the iconic Japanese filmmaker and co-founder of Studio Ghibli wrote and directed a number of hugely popular animated films, including Spirited Away (2001), Princess Mononoke (1997) and My Neighbor Totoro (1988), in a career that began at Toei Animation in 1963.

-- Only on ANIMATIONWorld:
Hayao Miyazaki – The Interview

Set in an alternate universe from Sony’s other Spider-Man properties, Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse follows Miles Morales, a Marvel Comics character created by writer Brian Michael Bendis and artist Sara Pichelli who first appeared in comic form in 2011. Morales (voiced by Shameik Moore) gains superpowers after being bitten by a radioactive spider, and must learn how to fit into a world already containing multiple Spider-People, including Gwen Stacy (Hailee Steinfeld) and a “jaded” Peter Parker (Jake Johnson). Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse opens in theaters December 14.

The film is directed by Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsey, and Rodney Rothman from a screenplay by Phil Lord. In addition to Moore, Johnson and Steinfeld, Mahershala Ali, Liev Schreiber, Brian Tyree Henry, Luna Lauren Velez, and Lily Tomlin round out the voice cast.

A complete list of L.A. Film Critics Association award winners can be found here – a complete list of New York Film Critics Online award winners can be found here.

Source: LAFCA and NYFO

Dan Sarto's picture

Dan Sarto is Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network.