Search form

‘Song of the Sea’ Tops Irish Film and Television Awards

Cartoon Saloon also receives the award for best animated short with ‘Somewhere Down The Line,’ written and directed by Julien Regnard.

'Song of the Sea'

The winners of the 2015 IFTA Awards for Film and Drama were revealed Sunday night at a star-studded awards ceremony at the The Mansion House in Dublin City Centre.  

The event was hosted by Chief Executive of the Irish Film and Television Academy, Áine Moriarty, who congratulated all winners and nominees working in the Irish film and drama industry. These include directors, writers, actors and filmmakers whose work was showcased throughout the evening. The IFTA Awards are the highlight of Ireland’s film and drama calendar and they celebrate the very best of Irish screen talent across film and television.

Topping the list was Song of the Sea, the Oscar-nominated 2D animated feature from Cartoon Saloon directed by Tomm Moore (The Secret of Kells). Cartoon Saloon also received the award for best animated short with Somewhere Down The Line, which was written and directed by Julien Regnard and funded through the Irish Film Board’s Frameworks scheme.

Hosted by actress and television presenter, Caroline Morahan, the Awards Ceremony was recorded by official media partner TV3, and will be televised on Monday, June 1st.

IFTA 2015 also saw filmmaker Jim Sheridan receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by Sean Bean - a tribute to his highly decorated and illustrious career that spans 30 years with credits that include My Left Foot, The Boxer, In America, In the Name of the Father, The Field, Brothers and Some Mother’s Son.

Also acknowledged on the night was the success of Irish film The Lobster (Element Pictures), which won the Prix du Jury at this year’s Cannes Film Festival.


Best Film: Song of the Sea

Best Director Film: Lenny Abrahamson for Frank

Best Script Film: Terry McMahon for Patrick’s Day

Irish Film Board Rising Star: Sarah Greene

Best Lead Actor Film: Moe Dunford for Patrick’s Day

Best Lead Actress Film: Deirdre O’Kane for Noble

Best Supporting Actor Film: Domhnall Gleeson for Frank

Best Supporting Actress Film: Sarah Greene

George Morrison Feature Documentary: In A House That Ceased To Be

Best Animation Short: Somewhere Down The Line

Best Short Film: Rockmount

Best Drama in association with BAI: Love/Hate 5

Best Director Drama: Ciaran Donnelly for Vikings

Best Script Drama: Stuart Carolan for Love/Hate

Best Lead Actor Drama: Aidan Gillen for Charlie

Best Lead Actress Drama: Charlie Murphy for Love/Hate

Best Supporting Actor Drama: Stephen Rea for The Honourable Woman

Best Supporting Actress Drama: Aisling Franciosi for The Fall

Best Director of Photography: James Mather for Frank

Best Costume Design: Lorna Marie Mugan for Peaky Blinders

Best Editing: Emer Reynolds for One Million Dubliners

Best M.A.C. Make-Up and Hair: Vikings

Best Original Score: Stephen McKeon for Queen and Country

Best Production Design: John Paul Kelly for The Theory of Everything

Best Sound: Patrick’s Day

Best International Film: Boyhood

Best International Actor: Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything

Best International Actress: Julianne Moore for Still Alice

Source: Irish Film and Television Academy

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.