Search form

‘Slide,’ ‘The Voice in the Hollow’ Lead LAAF 2023 Winners

Indie legend Bill Plympton takes home awards for ‘Best Feature Director’ and ‘Best Music Video’ while the Columbian director nabs ‘Best of the Fest’ and ‘Best Short’ awards. 

The 2023 Los Angeles Animation Festival (LAAF) wrapped up on Sunday, December 10 with a ceremony honoring winners of this year’s competition across a number of short and feature film categories. Winners were selected by a panel of industry professionals.

Colombian director Miguel Ortega’s The Voice in The Hollow garnered awards for Best of the Fest and Best Short, while indie legend Bill Plympton’s ninth feature Slide won for Best Feature Director and Best Music Video.

“LAAF is America’s best animation festival,” commented Plympton. “The brilliant LAAF team has curated the next wave of world animation into a very hospitable fest that is crackling with high energy! I networked a ton and will definitely be back next year.”

LAAF co-founder Miles Flanagan said, “Once again we had a successful event and provided a great forum for filmmakers to share their work, meet and mingle and receive recognition for their contributions to our animation community.”

Other winner highlights include:

  • Best International Feature Film: The Other Shape directed by Diego Felipe Guzmán (Columbia)
  • Best International Short Film: La Fille au Béret Rouge (The Girl with the Red Beret) directed by Janet Perlman (Canada - NFB)
  • Best Student Director and Best Student Comedy: The Nectar Instead directed by Yoo Lee

A complete list of winners is available here.

Source: LAAF

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is news editor at Animation World Network.