Search form

Six Animators To Be Honored at Daytime Emmy Awards

DreamWorks Animation Television series ‘Trollhunters’ and ‘The Mr. Peabody & Sherman Show’ garner four top honors at the 44th annual Daytime Creative Arts Emmys.

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) has announced the honorees for outstanding achievement in animation who will be honored at the 44th Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards, April 28th, at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium in Southern California.

“The category of individual achievement in animation is a juried award,” Brent Stanton, Executive Director of the Daytime Emmy Awards, explained. “A panel of judges composed of qualified animation judges, determine the Emmy award worthiness of submissions from individuals who work in the various craft areas of expertise in animation, such as character design, storyboard, art direction/production design, background design, layout and color and character animation. Entrants submit their work from a single episode. There can be one, more than one, or no recipients, depending on the level of excellence.”

Notably, creative talent from two DreamWorks Animation Television series -- Guillermo del Toro’s Trollhunters and The Mr. Peabody & Sherman Show, both for Netflix -- were honored with a total of four awards. Amazon series Little Big Awesome and Nickelodeon’s Pig Goat Banana Cricket received one award each.

“We received an unprecedented number of submissions this year and the level of accomplishment shown by these animators is amazing,” said David Michaels, SVP, Daytime Emmy Awards. “The panel of peer judges have an incredibly high bar for these animators to reach and the work of these individuals chosen were all unanimously agreed upon as worthy of the prestigious Emmy award.”

The panel chose to honor the work of six individuals:

Trollhunters, Netflix
Mike Chaffe, Animator – “Becoming, Part 1”

The Mr. Peabody & Sherman Show, Netflix
Kevin Dart, Art Director – “The Wrath Of Hughes”

Pig Goat Banana Cricket, Nickelodeon
Phil Jacobson, Storyboard Artist – “Mall Ya Later”

Trollhunters, Netflix
Victor Maldonado, Character Designer – “Win, Lose Or Draal”

Little Big Awesome, Amazon
Khang Le, Art Director – “What’s The Trouble Bubble”

The Mr. Peabody & Sherman Show, Netflix
Eastwood Wong, Background Painter – “Pea Dummy/Mary Anning”

Source: NATAS