Search form

‘Shooom’s Odyssey’ Awarded Best in Show at SIGGRAPH Asia Computer Animation Festival

‘Migrants,’ and ‘Box Assassin’ take Jury Special and Best Student Project honors; virtual festival’s annual Electronic Theatre and Animation Theatre showcase an additional 44 top CG animation projects chosen from 577 submissions.

The SIGGRAPH Asia 2020 Virtual conference ended its initial run last night; the online conference platform will remain live for the next three months, allowing continued access to its expansive lineup of programs and screenings. Three films have been awarded top honors from the conference’s Computer Animation Festival, selected from a pool of 577 CG animated projects. 51 pre-selection jurors whittled the group down to 139; from there, an international jury of top professionals reviewed each project, choosing three award winners for the CAF Winners Screening, 22 projects for the Electronic Theatre screening as well as another 22 for the Animation Theatre program.

Take a moment to check out the Electronic Theatre Trailer!

“Our CAF winners, Electronic Theatre, and Animation Theatre screenings highlight the work of an incredibly diverse and talented group of artists from around the world,” said Computer Animation Festival Chair Dan Sarto. “Our jury helped assemble an extraordinary collection of animated projects, including 47 animated shorts, VFX reels, commercials, scientific visualizations and other works, presented online during the festival. Congratulations to all the winners and to everyone who took time to share their work with us.”

The SIGGRAPH Asia 2020 award winners are:

BEST IN SHOWShoom’s Odyssey

Director: Julien Bisaro
Producer: Claire Paoletti
Production Company: Picolo Pictures
Country: France

The 26-minute film, which won the Cristal for Best TV Production at Annecy 2020, tells the story of Shooom, a baby owl, that hatches just as a storm turns the bayou surrounding her tree upside down. No sooner has she fallen from her nest, then the little fledgling totters off into the mangrove, pushing a second egg from the brood along with her. Come hell or high water, she’s determined to find a mother... even if that mom turns out to be an alligator or a raccoon!


Directors: Hugo Caby, Antoine Dupriez, Aubin Kubiak, Lucas Lermytte, and Zoé Devise
Producer: Carlos De Carvalho
School: Pôle 3D
Country: France
Distributor: Je Regarde

Two polar bears are driven into exile due to global warming. They will encounter brown bears along their journey, with whom they will try to cohabitate.

JURY SPECIAL: Box Assassin

Producer / Director: Jeremy Schaefer
School: Ringling College of Art & Design
Country: U.S.A.

Craig, a pizza delivery boy, recalls the night he was making a delivery to a cold-blooded gang boss and his goons. Unknowingly, Craig delivers not pizza, but the legendary Box Assassin. The assassin shows up and wreaks havoc among the gangsters. Craig attempts to escape but is taken hostage by the gang boss. At the mercy of a cold-blooded gangster, Craig fears this might be the end.

This year’s 22 films / projects selected for the Electronic Theatre are as follows:

Timm Völkner

Déjeuner sur l'herbe  
Jocelyn Charles, Jules Bourgès, Nathan Harbonn-Viaud, and Pierre Rougemont

Benjamin Berrebi, Jakub Bednarz, Diego Cristófano, Mohammad Babakoohi,Théo Lenoble, Karlo Pavicic-Ravlic, and Marthinus Van Rooyen

Benoît Filippin, Paul Gautier, Laureline Massias, and Mathieu Milaret

Shaofu Zhang and Andrew Chesworth

Daniela Dwek, Maya Mendonca, and Chrisy Baek

HBO Asia / Dream Raider / TV Show Opening Sequence      
Aslan Malik

In Event of Moon Disaster     
Francesca Panetta and Halsey Burgund

Arthur Allender, Mathieu Antoine, Léna Belmonte, Cyrielle Guillermin, Victor Kirsch, and Elliot Thomasson

Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu, Dean Hamer, and Joe Wilson

Lenny Makes Some-Thing - “Turn Me On (feat.ARCX)” MV  
Junha Kim

Love and Fifty Megatons (VFX)          
Krez Denis

Shaofu Zhang

Christophe Sarraco, Pauline Lavelle, Hadrien Augier, Théo Blanchard, and Hugo Fredoueil

Soap versus COVID-19
John McGhee

Sous la glace  
Milan Baulard, Ismaïl Berrahma, Flore Dupont, Laurie Estampes, Quentin Nory, and Hugo Potin

The Beauty     
Pascal Schelbli

The Heretic    
Veselin Efremov

The Journey of Mankind is the Sea of Stars   
Bohong Deng

Too Late         
Roy Stein

Ágnes Győrfi

Yibing Jiang

The Computer Animation Festival’s 11 dedicated jury members, who spent two weeks reviewing 139 films and projects before choosing the final three award winners, 22 Electronic Theatre and 22 Animation Theatre selections, are as follows:

BoKyung Park
Seoul Business Agency

Ed Hooks
Acting for Animators

Erick Oh
Tonko House

Jae-huun Ahn
Meditation with a Pencil

Jeff Gipson
Walt Disney Animation Studios

Juck Somsaman
The Monk Studios

June Kim
UNSW Sydney

Paul Hellard

Steve Emerson

Sungho Hong
Locus Corporation

Vani Saraswathi
Dancing Atoms

Click here to attend or learn more about SIGGRAPH Asia 2020’s Computer Animation Festival.

Source: SIGGRAPH Asia 2020 Virtual