Search form

Savannah College’s Beckmann named Education Chair for SIGGRAPH 2005

Patricia Beckmann, chair of the animation department at Savannah College of Art and Design, has been named Education Chair for SIGGRAPH 2005. In addition, Matthew Munn, a second-year graduate student in animation from Calymont, Delaware, won the 10 Second Club monthly Character Animation Competition for the month of November 2003. This online international competition posts a 10-sec sound clip at the beginning of each month. Animators who participate submit animations to that sound at the end of the month, and are then judged on the quality of their character animation. The winner for the month does not receive any award, but is featured on the homepage of the site as well as in the archives of previous winners. Munns animation can be viewed by going to:

The Savannah College of Art and Design ( was founded in 1978 by Richard G. Rowan, Paula S. Wallace, May L. Poetter and Paul E. Poetter to provide college degree programs not previously available in southeast Georgia and to create a specialized professional art college to attract students to Georgia from throughout the United States and abroad.

Bill Desowitz's picture

Bill Desowitz, former editor of VFXWorld, is currently the Crafts Editor of IndieWire.