Search form

‘Samurai Jack’ Sweeps Juried Awards at 69th Emmys

Patrick Osborne’s VR short ‘PEARL’ for Google Spotlight Stories wins award for Outstanding Innovation in Interactive Programming.

The Television Academy has announced the juried award winners for the 69th Emmy Awards in the categories of Animation, Motion Design and Interactive Programming. The juried awards for Animation, Motion Design and Interactive Programming will be presented at the Creative Arts Awards ceremony on Saturday, September 9.

This year’s juried winners are:

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation

  • Samurai Jack – XCIII – Adult Swim – Cartoon Network Studios
    Bryan Andrews, Storyboard Artist
  • Samurai Jack – XCIII – Adult Swim – Cartoon Network Studios
    Scott Wills, Production Designer
  • Samurai Jack – XCII – Adult Swim – Cartoon Network Studios
    Craig Kellman, Character Designer
  • Samurai Jack – XCV – Adult Swim – Cartoon Network Studios
    Lou Romano, Background Designer
  • Wander Over Yonder – The End Of The Galaxy – Disney XD – Disney Television Animation
    Justin Nichols, Character Animator

Outstanding Motion Design

  • Beyond Magic – ABC – Buck
    Orion Tait, Executive Creative Director Thomas Schmid, Creative Director Daniel Oeffinger, Creative Director William Trebutien, Lead Animator
  • 13th – Netflix – Forward Movement, LLC and Kandoo Films
    Angus Wall, Co-Creative Director Leanne Dare, Co-Creative Director Lynn Cho, Designer
    Dan Meehan, Animator Ekin Akalin, Animator

Outstanding Innovation in Interactive Programming

    Patrick Osborne, Director David Eisenmann, Producer
    Karen Dufilho, Executive Producer Google Spotlight Stories
    Evil Eye Pictures

Juried categories require all entrants to be screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer group, with the possibility of one, more than one or no entry being awarded an Emmy. As a consequence, there are no nominees, but instead a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant’s work, with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy.

After each deliberation, the jury considers the question, “Is this entry worthy of an Emmy award -- yea or nay?” Only those with unanimous approval win.

The 2017 Creative Arts Emmy Awards, executive-produced by Bob Bain, will be held at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles beginning at 5:00 PM PT each evening. FXX will broadcast the awards on Saturday, September 16 at 8:00 PM ET/PT.

Source: The Television Academy