Search form

Royal Television Society Announces 2020 Student Award Nominees

‘Margin of Terror’ and ‘Almost There’ among undergrad and postgrad nominees in animation category.

LONDON -- The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the shortlisted nominations for the national RTS Student Television Awards 2020, sponsored by Motion Content Group. Students from 23 institutions have received nominations across six categories, having qualified by winning at their respective regional RTS Student Awards earlier this year.

Now in its 25th year, the awards ceremony will be livestreamed on Friday, June 26 at 2pm BST. Further details will be published on the RTS website. The awards celebrate the best audiovisual work created by students with an undergraduate and postgraduate winner awarded in each category across animation, comedy & entertainment, drama, factual, news and short form.

To reward excellence in craft skills, awards will also be presented in the following categories at the judges’ discretion: camerawork, editing, production design, sound, and writing.

“It was inspiring to see such imagination, heart and energy, that was put out there for everyone to see by all the nominees,” commented RTS Student Television Awards, managing director, 110% content and chair, Siobhan Greene. “We need to be uplifted, now, more than ever before, and the life force of creativity we watched from the entries was fantastic. I can't wait to 'meet' the nominees via Zoom on 26 June. They deserve all the praise they're going to get.”

The nominations are as follows:



  • Ctrl + Alt + Z - Holly Keating, Conor Leech, Ciara O'Shaughnessy and Kai Munoa (Ballyfermot College of Further Education)
  • Margin of Terror - Kieran McLister (University of Edinburgh)
  • You're Fit - Lydia Reid (Kingston University)


  • Almost There - Nelly Michenaud, Tim Dees, Nathanael Baring, Kate Phibbs and team (National Film and Television School)
  • Heatwave - Fokion Xenos, Priya K. Dosanjh, Brendan Freedman, Stella Heath Keir, Kevin Langhamer and Team (National Film and Television School)
  • In Her Boots - Kathrin Steinbacher (Royal College of Art)

Comedy & Entertainment:


  • Biggy - Henry Oliver, Jordi Estapé Montserrat and Liam Morgan (Ravensbourne University)
  • FLIT - Jack Allen, Elías Nader, Ina Morken, Laurence Jenkins and Carey Melanie Osborne (University of Edinburgh)
  • Holiday! - Toby Matthews, Amy Lindley and Charles Power (Falmouth University)


  • Go For Alanya - Anna Castelaz, Arianne Smith, Madeleine Quarm, Daniela Velasco, Olga Lagun and Jessica Halee (Goldsmiths, University of London)
  • Lucy - Menghan Zhu, Gwennaëlle Counson, Lia Monguzzi, Ziyu Qiu, Elliot Barker and Ruojing Yang (Goldsmiths, University of London)



  • A Dead Canary - James Davis, Elle Ralph, Charlotte Murphy, Rachel Neill and David Richards (University of Gloucestershire)
  • Sealskin - Anna Venuto, Lara Karam and Daisy Leigh Phippard (Arts University Bournemouth)
  • Starry Night - Emma Smith, Caoilinn Handley, Rachel Moloney, Lori Stacey, Anna Heisterkamp and Team (IADT Dun Laoghaire)


  • Azaar - Myriam Raja, Nathanael Baring and Team (National Film and Television School)
  • November 1st - Charlie Manton, Teodora Shaleva, Molly Manning-Walker, Theo Boswell, Celina Øier and Team (National Film and Television School)
  • Ufo - Harvey Gardner, Reece Steel and Luca Michelli (University of the West of Scotland)



  • Building Bridges - Josephine Cressy, Guillermo Quantanilla Pinto, Maximillian Wilson, Pierre Niyongira and Luke Denton (University of the West of England, Bristol)
  • The Curiosity of Edward Pratt - Thomas Sandler, Oscar Godfrey and Alex Gordon (University of York)
  • Women Uprooted - Dominique de Villiers, Fran Brotherton-Cottrell, Ellie Price, Grace Mosley and Andrea Stensholm Klæboe (Falmouth University)


  • Carrying Myself - Matea Petrović (University of Salford)
  • Green and Grey - Lucia Amoroso (UCL)
  • Separation - Wei Han (UCL)



  • A Roof Over Our Heads - Pien Meulensteen (University of Salford)
  • Inked - Alex Bridgewood (University of Derby)
  • It Takes All Sorts - Katya Fowler (University of Leeds)


  • Host or Hostile? - Issa Farfour (Cardiff University)
  • Tarred by the Brush of Modern Slavery - Huong Nguyen (Nottingham Trent University)
  • The Decline of The Great British Bee - Adam Smith (University of Sheffield)

Short Form:


  • Looking For - Cian Desmond, Caoilinn Handley, Jack Desmond and Lori Stacey (IADT Dun Laoghaire)
  • Night Hopper - Lauren Burnham (Staffordshire University)
  • Tia - Jamie Walsh (University of Central Lancashire)


  • Hungry Mobsters - Francis Corby Ceschin, Paola Gonzalez Camarero, Said Englund, Ava Isak, Fabio Mota and Team (National Film and Television School)
  • Rough Hands - Fabio Mota, Lily Grimes, Francesco Cibati, Beatriz Honório, Malika Ruzmetova and Team (National Film and Television School)
  • Timing is Everything - Michele Vicenti, Twan Peeters and Team (National Film and Television School)

Click here to find more information on the nominated works.

Source: Royal Television Society