Search form

Presenters for Primetime Creative Arts Emmys Announced & mtvU Garners Governors

Tom Kenny, the voice of SpongeBob SquarePants will be amongst the presenters of the 2006 Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards on Aug. 19, 2006, at The Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles, which is not part of the Emmy awards network broadcast on Aug. 27 on NBC-TV. The ceremony will air as an exclusive two-hour special on E! Entertainment TV on Aug. 26 at 8:00 pm.

In addition to the animation programming and visual effects awards, part of the 73 categories of Emmy Awards to be handed out that night, the TV Academy's Governors Award will be presented to mtvU, MTVs 24-hour college network, for the outlet's Sudan Campaign which for the past two years has been informing and empowering college students to help stop the genocide in the Darfur region of Sudan.

"mtvU has done an extraordinary job in spreading awareness about the genocide taking place in Darfur to college and university students throughout the country," said Dick Askin, chairman of the TV Academy. "The campaign was so informative and moving that it was fit that they receive this high honor from the Television Academy's board of governors."

Launched in September 2004, and through partnerships with Amnesty International, STAND (Students Taking Action Now: Darfur), the U.N. World Food Programme, the International Crisis Group, Save Darfur, the Genocide Intervention Network and students activists nationwide, mtvUs Sudan Campaign is an unprecedented effort to inform and engage college students on the unfolding human rights and humanitarian crisis in Darfur and to direct them to resources to learn more, take action and speak out against it. Through programming, PSAs, a comprehensive resource center on and on-campus events, mtvU educated its audience and provided college students with the tools to affect this situation. To date, mtvUs Sudan Campaign has educated more than seven million students about this continuing international crisis and mobilized countless others to take action.

The list of presenters is as follows:Julie Bowen (BOSTON LEGAL)Tim Busfield (STUDIO 60 ON THE SUNSET STRIP) Sarah Chalke (SCRUBS) Patricia Clarkson (SIX FEET UNDER)Stephen Collins (7TH HEAVEN)Jon Cryer (TWO AND A HALF MEN)James Denton (DESPERATE HOUSEWIVES)Jennifer Garner (ALIAS)Neil Patrick Harris (HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER)Mark Harmon (NAVY NCIS)Kathryn Joosten (DESPERATE HOUSEWIVES)Jane Kaczmarek (MALCOM IN THE MIDDLE)Melina Kanakaredes (CSI: NY)Tom Kenny (SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS),John C. McGinley (SCRUBS)Cesar Millan (THE DOG WHISPERER)Timothy Olyphant (DEADWOOD)Mary Lynn Rajskub (24)Christina Ricci (GREY'S ANATOMY)Aisha Tyler (GHOST WHISPERER)Isaiah Washington (GREY'S ANATOMY)Robin Weigert (DEADWOOD)Kevin Weisman (ALIAS)Brad Whitford (THE WEST WING)Mark Valley (BOSTON LEGAL)Chandra Wilson (GREY'S ANATOMY)

In addition, the Interactive Media Awards along with the Engineering Awards will be presented during the show.

On Aug. 8, the Animation Peer Group held a nominee reception held at the new West skybar of hosting Hotel Angeleno in West Los Angeles with Grey Goose and Dove as sponsors. Voice actor Maurice La Marche emceed the evening along with governors John Kimball and Brian Sheesley honoring all Emmy-nominated programming nominees with their certificates, as well congratulating the juried award winners.

mtvU is broadcast to 750 colleges and universities across the U.S. and is dedicated to every aspect of college life, including emerging music, student-produced content, news, on-campus events and pro-social initiatives.