Search form

Pixar’s ‘Inside Out’ Named Best Animated Feature at 2016 Golden Globes

Award is the seventh win for Pixar Animation Studios from the Hollywood Foreign Press Association in the 10 years since the category was created.

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association held its 73rd annual Golden Globes Awards ceremony Sunday night, handing out statuettes to films and television shows in a variety of categories.

Twentieth Century Fox’s frontier-era revenge thriller The Revenant was the night’s big winner, taking home awards for best drama, best actor for Leonardo DiCaprio, and best direction for Alejandro G. Iñárritu. (The Revenant is also shortlisted for an Oscar for visual effects.)

The Martian (also shortlisted for the VFX Oscar) won two awards, including the prize for best comedy or musical and best actor in a comedy or musical for Matt Damon, proving once again that studio gerrymandering does not a good awards show make. “Comedy? But anyway,” director Ridley Scott said in accepting the trophy. “You’ve got to stay hungry and keep bouncing the ball.”

Among animated features, Pixar’s Inside Out was the big winner, beating out Charlie Kaufman and Duke Johnson’s stop-motion Anomalisa, Pixar’s The Good Dinosaur, Blue Sky’s The Peanuts Movie and Aardman’s Shaun the Sheep Movie. The award was the seventh win for Pixar from the Hollywood Foreign Press Association in the 10 years since the category was created.

“It felt like growing up is really hard, and that was an interesting subject to make a movie about,” Inside Out director Pete Docter said in his acceptance speech.

The full list of nominees and winners is shown below:

Best Motion Picture – Drama
The Revenant (WINNER)
Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical
The Martian (WINNER)
The Big Short

Best TV Series – Drama
Mr. Robot (WINNER)
Game of Thrones

Best TV Series – Comedy
Mozart in the Jungle (WINNER)
Orange Is the New Black
Silicon Valley

Best Animated Feature Film
Inside Out (WINNER)
The Good Dinosaur
The Peanuts Movie
Shaun the Sheep Movie

Best TV Movie or Limited-Series
Wolf Hall (WINNER)
American Crime
American Horror Story: Hotel
Flesh and Bone

Best Motion Picture – Foreign Language
Son of Saul (WINNER)
The Brand New Testament
The Club
The Fencer

Best Director – Motion Picture
Alejandro G. Iñárritu (The Revenant) (WINNER)
Todd Haynes (Carol)
Tom McCarthy (Spotlight)
George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Ridley Scott (The Martian)

Best Screenplay – Motion Picture
Aaron Sorkin (Steve Jobs) (WINNER)
Emma Donoghue (Room)
Tom McCarthy, Josh Singer (Spotlight)
Charles Randolph, Adam McKay (The Big Short)
Quentin Tarantino (The Hateful Eight)

Best Actress in a Motion Picture – Drama
Brie Larson (Room) (WINNER)
Cate Blanchett (Carol)
Rooney Mara (Carol)
Saoirse Ronan (Brooklyn)
Alicia Vikander (The Danish Girl)

Best Actor in a Motion Picture – Drama
Leonardo DiCaprio (The Revenant) (WINNER)
Bryan Cranston (Trumbo)
Michael Fassbender (Steve Jobs)
Eddie Redmayne (The Danish Girl)
Will Smith (Concussion)

Best Actress in a Motion Picture – Comedy
Jennifer Lawrence (Joy) (WINNER)
Melissa McCarthy (Spy)
Amy Schumer (Trainwreck)
Maggie Smith (The Lady in the Van)
Lily Tomlin (Grandma)

Best Actor in a Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical
Matt Damon (The Martian) (WINNER)
Christian Bale (The Big Short)
Steve Carell (The Big Short)
Al Pacino (Danny Collins)
Mark Ruffalo (Infinitely Polar Bear)

Best Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture
Sylvester Stallone (Creed) (WINNER)
Paul Dano (Love & Mercy)
Idris Elba (Beasts of No Nation)
Mark Rylance (Bridge of Spies)
Michael Shannon (99 Homes)

Best Actress in a TV Series – Drama
Taraji P. Henson (Empire) (WINNER)
Caitriona Balfe (Outlander)
Viola Davis (How to Get Away With Murder)
Eva Green (Penny Dreadful)
Robin Wright (House of Cards)

Best Actor in a TV Series – Drama
Jon Hamm (Mad Men) (WINNER)
Rami Malek (Mr. Robot)
Wagner Moura (Narcos)
Bob Odenkirk (Better Call Saul)
Liev Schreiber (Ray Donovan)

Best Actor in a TV Series – Comedy
Gael Garcia Bernal (Mozart in the Jungle) (WINNER)
Aziz Ansari (Master of None)
Rob Lowe (The Grinder)
Patrick Stewart (Blunt Talk)
Jeffrey Tambor (Transparent)

Best Actress in a TV Series – Comedy
Rachel Bloom (Crazy Ex-Girlfriend) (WINNER)
Jamie Lee Curtis (Scream Queens)
Julia Louis-Dreyfus (Veep)
Gina Rodriguez (Jane the Virgin)
Lily Tomlin (Grace & Frankie)

Best Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture
Kate Winslet (Steve Jobs) (WINNER)
Jane Fonda (Youth)
Jennifer Jason Leigh (The Hateful Eight)
Helen Mirren (Trumbo)
Alicia Vikander (Ex Machina)

Best Actress in a Limited-Series or TV Movie
Lady Gaga (American Horror Story: Hotel) (WINNER)
Kirsten Dunst (Fargo)
Sarah Hay (Flesh & Bone)
Felicity Huffman (American Crime)
Queen Latifah (Bessie)

Best Supporting Actress in a Series, Limited-Series, or TV Movie
Maura Tierney (The Affair) (WINNER)
Uzo Aduba (Orange is the New Black)
Joanne Froggatt (Downton Abbey)
Regina King (American Crime)
Judith Light (Transparent)

Best Supporting Actor in a Series, Limited-Series or TV Movie
Christian Slater (Mr. Robot) (WINNER)
Alan Cumming (The Good Wife)
Damian Lewis (Wolf Hall)
Ben Mendelsohn (Bloodline)
Tobias Menzies (Outlander)

Best Actor in a Limited-Series or TV Movie
Oscar Isaac (Show Me a Hero) (WINNER)
Idris Elba (Luther)
David Oyelowo (Nightingale)
Mark Rylance (Wolf Hall)
Patrick Wilson (Fargo)

Best Original Score
Ennio Morricone (The Hateful Eight) (WINNER)
Carter Burwell (Carol)
Alexandre Desplat (The Danish Girl)
Daniel Pemberton (Steve Jobs)
Ryuichi Sakamoto Alva Noto (The Revenant)

Best Original Song
“Writing’s on the Wall” from Spectre (WINNER)
“Love Me Like You Do” from Fifty Shades of Grey
“One Kind of Love” from Love & Mercy
“See You Again” from Furious 7
“Simple Song No. 3” from Youth

Source: Hollywood Foreign Press Association

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.