Search form

PBS Leads 43rd Annual Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards

PBS leads Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards with 15 wins; streaming giant Netflix picks up seven awards and Amazon receives four, while Nickelodeon receives three.

This past weekend the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences held its 43rd Annual Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards at the Westin Bonaventure in downtown Los Angeles recognizing outstanding achievement in all fields of daytime television productions broadcast during the 2015 calendar year.

Perennial broadcasting powerhouse PBS led the field with a total of 15 awards, while streaming giant Netflix garnered seven wins and Amazon picked up four. Nickelodeon trailed behind with three awards.

PBS live-action series Odd Squad, co-produced by The Fred Rogers Company and Toronto-based Sinking Ship Entertainment, led for multiple wins by a series, landing four Emmys at Friday night’s ceremony. It took home the awards for Outstanding Writing and Directing in a Children’s or Preschool Series, plus Best Costume Design/Styling and Outstanding Hairstyling.

Meanwhile, PBS mainstay Sesame Street and Amazon’s stop-motion series Tumble Leaf (Bix Pix Entertainment) once again matched total wins with three each. Awards for Tumble Leaf included Outstanding Preschool Animated Program and Directing in an Animated Program. Sesame Street was given awards for Outstanding Preschool Series and Outstanding Sound Editing for a Live-Action Series.

For Netflix, Emmys included wins for a trio of DreamWorks Animation Television-produced series -- The Adventures of Puss In Boots (Outstanding Casting for an Animated Series or Special), Dinotrux (Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation) and All Hail King Julien (Outstanding Writing in an Animated Program).

Amazon’s additional win was picked up by Niko and the Sword of Light (Titmouse) for Outstanding Children’s Animated Program.

Elsewhere, syndicated series Sea Rescue scored the award for Outstanding Children’s Series. The live-action series is executive produced by Bryan Curb, David Doyle, Scott Helmstedter, Dave Morgan and Eric Rollman.

Other notable winners included Jill Bennett, who won Outstanding Performer in an Animated Program for her work as Mayor Luskey in Discovery Family Channel’s Transformers Rescue Bots; Nickelodeon’s Peter Rabbit (Outstanding Special Class Animated Program) and PBS series Peg + Cat from 9 Story Media Group and The Fred Rogers Company (Outstanding Writing in a Preschool Animated Program).

The full list of winners can be found here.

Source: National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.