Search form

‘Only a Child’ Named Best in Show at 2021 SPARK Animation

Simone Giampolo’s short takes the top award at the 12th Annual SPARK Animation Film Festival, which runs October 28 to November 7.

The SPARK Computer Graphics Society (Spark CG) has announced the winners of its 2021 SPARK Animation competition. The awards presentation ceremony will be available to view online during the 12th Annual SPARK Animation Film Festival, which runs October 28 to November 7.

The winners are:

Best in Show:

  • Only a Child by Simone Giampolo (Switzerland)

WIA Diversity Award:

  • All Those Sensations in My Belly by Marko Djeska (Croatia)

The Director’s Prize:

  • The Fall by Vancouverite Desirae Witte (Canada)

Winner, 3D Narrative Short:

  • Mr. Spam Gets a New Hat by William Joyce (UK)

Runner Up, 3D Narrative Short

  • Mila by Cinzia Angelini (US)

Winner, 2D Narrative Short

  • Affairs of the Art by Joanna Quinn (UK)

Runner Up, 2D Narrative Short

  • Namoo by Erick Oh (US)

Winner, Stop-Motion Narrative Short and Winner, Canadian Film:

  • Angakusajaujuq: The Shaman's Apprentice by Zacharias Kunuk (Canada)

Winner, Mixed-Media Narrative Short

  • Freedom Swimmer by Olivia Martin-McGuire (UK)

Runner Up, Mixed-Media Narrative Short

  • I Am Chuma by Wendy Spinks and Clea Mallinson (South Africa)

Winner, Student Short:

  • The Seine’s Tears by Yanis Belaid, Eliott Benard, Nicolas Mayeur, Etienne Moulin, Hadrien Pinot, Lisa Vicente, Philippine Singer, Alice Letailleur (France)

Runner Up, Student Film

  • Homebird by Ewa Smyk (UK)

Special Mention, Social Message, Student Short

  • Felt Right Then, Feels Right Now by Ashton Blyth (UK)
  • Where Are You Really From? by Steven Lee (US)
  • La Bestia by Marlijn van Nuenen, Ram Tamez, Alfredo Gerard, Kuttikatt (Germany)
  • Misery Loves Company by Sasha Lee (Korea)

Special Mention, Documentary, Student Short

  • Circus in Town by Sebastian Kellermann, Robin Pfister (Germany

Special Mention, Comedy, Student Short

  • Barking Orders by Alex Tullo (US)
  • Molly & Her Cat by Annabelle Cabaret, Lucie Damin, Emmanuel-Xuân, Dubois, Chloé Laffaire, Yifang Man, Clarisse Milcent (France)

Special Mention, Stop-Motion, Student Short

  • The Clearing by Daniel Hope (UK)
  • Three Jumps to Happiness by Artur Hanaj (Poland)

Winner, Commercial

  • Head & Shoulders The Chase by CRCR (Japan)

Winner, PSA

  • Save Ralph by Spencer Susser (US)

Winner, Cinematic

  • League of Legends, Phoenixmancers by CRCR (US)

Special Mention, Animated Interactive

  • Wayfinder by Matt DesLauriers (Canada)

Winner, Music Video

  • Jordan Hart Freedom by Nicos Livesey (UK)

Special Mention, Music Video

  • Katy Perry Harleys in Hawai’i by Hoku Uchiyama, Adam Bolt (US)
  • I Am Sorry by Hayoung Elaine Song (Korea)

Winner, VFX

  • But Happy by Anatolii Umanets (Ukraine)

Source: SPARK Computer Graphics Society