Search form

OIAF Announces 2018 Feature Selections

Seven animated features selected to compete at the 2018 Ottawa International Animation Festival; Virtual Reality and Young Audience selections also announced.

Emma De Swaef and Marc James Roels ‘This Magnificent Cake!’ (Belgium) is one of seven animated features to selected to screen in competition at OIAF 2018.

OTTAWA, ON -- Organizers of the 2018 edition of the Ottawa International Animation Festival have announced feature selections for the 2018 edition, which runs this year September 26-30.

Seven animated feature films are set to compete at OIAF 2018:

  • North of Blue | Joanna Priestly and Jamie Haggerty | USA
  • This Magnificent Cake! | Emma De Swaef and Marc James Roels | Belgium
  • Seder-Masochism | Nina Paley | USA
  • On Happiness Road | Hsin-Yin Sung | Taiwan
  • Captain Morten and the Spider Queen | Kaspar Jancis | Estonia
  • Virus Tropical | Lison Hervé | Colombia
  • Ville Neuve | Felix Dufour-Laperriere | Canada

The selection committee also unveiled five virtual reality projects to be presented in competition:

  • Siffler | François Narboux | France
  • Dream | Phillippe Lambert | Canada
  • Museum of Symmetry | Paloma Dawkins | Canada
  • The Blues | Caty Davis Blättermann | Germany
  • Nothing Happens | Uri Kranot and Michelle Kranot | Denmark and France

The Young Audiences Official Competition selections were also announced.


  • Big Block Singsong “Duck” | Warren Brown | Canada
  • Konigiri-Kun Music Box | Mari Miyazawa | Japan
  • Patchwork Rhino | Angela Steffen | Germany
  • Small Forest Stories | Veronika Fedorova | Russia
  • I Count the Rabbits | Reyhane Kavosh & Ali Raeis | Iran
  • Five Counting Crayons | Tony Dusko | USA
  • Ant | Julia Ocker | Germany
  • Mister Paper Goes Out for a Walk | Steven De Beul & Ben Tesseur | Belgium, Netherlands
  • Fluffy Hour “PuiPui & MuuMuu” | Hiroyuki Mizoguchi | Japan
  • The Highway Rat | Jeroen Jaspaert | UK


  • 6:1 | Sergei Ryabov | Russia
  • Carlotta’s Face | Frédéric & Schuld Valentin Riedl | Germany
  • Voyagers | Gauthier Ammeux, Valentine Baillon, Benjamin Chaumeny, Alexandre Dumez, Lea Finucci & Marina Roger | France
  • Gelato – Seven Summers of Ice Cream Love | Daniela Opp | Germany
  • Funny Fish | Krishna Chandran A. Nair | France, Switzerland
  • Quiet | Maxim Kulikov | Russia
  • Brooklyn Breeze | Alex Budovsky | USA, Colombia
  • Welcome | Polina Kutukina | Russia
  • The Golden Tortoise | Célia Tisserant & Célia Tocco | France, Belgium
  • The Green Bird | Pierre Perveyrie, Maximilien Bougeois, Marine Goalard, Irina Nguyen-Duc & Quentin Dubois | France

OIAF Jury members were announced earlier in June. During the Festival, three official jurors sit with the audience and select winners in the various official categories. (See last year’s winners here.) The Young Audience films are judged by 10 local, young people ranging from the ages of 8 to 12 years old selected in a contest. (deadline July 27).

The international team judging short films, VR and features are leading artists and members of the animation community. This year’s international jury members are:

  • Steven Subotnick is currently a teacher at Brown University and the Rhode Island School of Design who has won major awards from London International Animation Festival and the Holland Animation Film Festival, among many others.
  • Chintis Lundgren gained attention in the animation world for her quirky music videos, PSAs, and short films. Her NFB film Manivald has won numerous awards around the world including Best Script at #OIAF17.
  • Chel White has directed projects for Saturday Night Live, David Lynch and Al Gore as well as a groundbreaking music video for Radiohead. He is a co-founder of Bent Image Lab, an animation studio in Portland, Oregon.
  • Kelly Sears is an award-winning experimental animator that cuts up and collages imagery from American culture and politics. She is currently an Assistant Professor of Film Stdies at the University of Colorado Boulder, where she teaches advanced filmmaking, animation, experimental documentary, and media archeology.
  • Nicolas Brault is an award-winning animator from Montreal. His film Foreign Bodies (2013) won the Off-Limits award at the Annecy Animation Festival in 2014.
  • Igor Prassel is a film curator, lecturer on the history and theory of animation and author. He also founded the International Animation Film Festival Animateka, where he serves as the artistic director.

Source: Ottawa International Animation Festival

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.