Search form

Nominees Announced for 2019 Kidscreen Awards

Winners to be revealed next February 12 during Kidscreen Summit 2019 in Miami.

TORONTO -- Kidscreen, host of the leading global kids entertainment industry awards for excellence, has announced their 2019 Kidscreen Awards nominees.

Nominees in the Programming Categories are:


Best New Series

Becca’s Bunch (JAM Media)

Esme & Roy (Nelvana, Sesame Workshop)

True: Wonderful Wishes (Guru Studio, Friends With You, Homeplate Entertainment, i am OTHER)

Best Animated Series

Hey Duggee (Studio AKA)

The Stinky & Dirty Show (Amazon Studios, Brown Bag Films)

True: Wonderful Wishes (Guru Studio, Friends With You, Homeplate Entertainment, i am OTHER)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series

Becca’s Bunch (JAM Media)

Dino Dana (Sinking Ship Entertainment)

Sesame Street (Sesame Workshop)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie                  

Beat Bugs: All Together Now (Grace: A Storytelling Company, Beyond Screen Production, Thunderbird Productions/Netflix)

The Magical Wand Chase: A Sesame Street Special (Sesame Workshop)

Thomas & Friends: Big World! Big Adventures! The Movie (Mattel Creations)


Best New Series

Kitty is Not a Cat (Network 7, Jetpack Distribution)

The Adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle (DreamWorks Animation Television)

The Boss Baby: Back in Business (DreamWorks Animation Television)

Best Animated Series

Miraculous—Tales of Ladybug and Cat Noir (ZAG)

SpongeBob SquarePants (Nickelodeon Animation Studio)

The Boss Baby: Back in Business (DreamWorks Animation Television)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series

MasterChef Junior (Endemol Shine North America, One Potato Two Potato)

Odd Squad (Fred Rogers Productions, Sinking Ship Entertainment)

Valentins (Gloob, Zola Filmes)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie   

Kids’ Choice Awards 2018 (Nickelodeon, ROK Productions, Dempsey Productions,

GHS Productions)

Nickelodeon’s Ultimate Halloween Haunted House (Nickelodeon, STUN Creative,

Alternative Plan Productions)

SpongeBob SquarePants “The Legend of Boo-Kini Bottom” (Nickelodeon Animation Studio, Screen Novelties)


Best New Series

Creeped Out (DHX Media, BBC Children's Productions, CBBC, Family Channel)

The Bureau of Magical Things (Jonathan M. Shiff Productions)

The New Legends of Monkey (See-Saw Films/Netflix)

Best Animated Series

Dennis & Gnasher: Unleashed! (Beano Studios)

Mission Force One (Wild Canary Animation/Disney Junior)

The Dragon Prince (Wonderstorm, Bardel Entertainment, MWM/Netflix)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series

A Series of Unfortunate Events (Netflix)

Anne with an E (Northwood Entertainment in association with CBC/Netflix)

ZombieLars (Tordenfilm, NRK Super)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie

Bob’s Burgers “The Bleakening” (20th Century Fox, Bento Box Entertainment)

HALO Awards 2017 (Nickelodeon, N-Credible, ROK Productions)

Next Gen (Baozou, Tangent Animation/Netflix)

These shortlisted entries are being reviewed and assessed by a fresh panel of judges, including the following execs: Dominique Bazay (Netflix), Joe D’Ambrosia (Disney Junior), Henrietta Hurford-Jones (BBC Worldwide), Linda Simensky (PBS KIDS), Deirdre Brennan (Universal Kids), Tiphaine de Raguenel (France Télévisions), Tara Sorensen (Apple), Andrew Thomas (Hulu Kids), Nicole Keeb (ZDF), Layla Lewis (Nickelodeon), Sarah Muller (Sony Pictures Television) and Adina Pitt (Cartoon Network).

Nominees in the Broadcasting Categories are:

Channel of the Year


NRK Super


Best Programming Block

Nat Geo Kids (Nat Geo Kids)

Party with the Ponies (Discovery Family Channel)

The Sandwich Show (NTR/ZAPP)

Best On-Air Host or Hosting Team

Gary the Unicorn, Mr. Orlando—CBC Kids (CBC)

Suki, Meisa, Jesse and Spencer—The Zone (YTV)

The Mouseketeers: Charis, Wafiy, Erissa, Gabriel, Dheena, Faiz and Natasya—Club Mickey Mouse (Disney Channel Asia)

Nominees in the Digital Categories are:


Best Learning App—Branded

Hey Duggee: The Counting Badge (BBC Studios, Scary Beasties, Studio AKA)

Lili & Lola—Numbers Game (Big Bad Boo Productions)

World of Peppa Pig (Secret Location, Entertainment One)

Best Learning App—Original

Kidomi (Fingerprint Digital)

Kindergo (Like A Photon Creative)

MarcoPolo World School (MarcoPolo World School)

Papumba Academy (Papumba)

Best Game App—Branded


Pinkalicious Party (WGBH Educational Foundation)

World of Peppa Pig (Secret Location, Entertainment One)

Best Game App—Original

Budge World (Budge Studios)

Pollywog Pond (Whooplah)

Hopster Coding Safari (Hopster)

Best Streaming Video Platform

Discovery Kids


Noggin (Nickelodeon)

Sesame Street YouTube Channel (Sesame Workshop)

Best Web/App Series—Branded

Canticos (Nickelodeon)

Cry Babies Magic Tears (Hampa Studio)

Elmo’s Food Rap Battle (Sesame Workshop)

Best Web/App Series—Original

Daisy & The Gumboot Kids (Imagine Create Media)

Go Dinos! (Discovery Kids Digital, Group Nine Media)

Odd Couples (Discovery Kids Digital, Group Nine Media)

Best Website (PBS KIDS)

The Ruff Ruffman Show (WGBH)


Best Learning App—Branded

Amazon FreeTime (Amazon)

Annedroids Compubot Plus (Sinking Ship Entertainment)

Nature Cat’s Great Outdoors (Spiffy Pictures, PBS KIDS, REDspace)

Best Learning App—Original

Amazing Dream Job Adventure (Riverbank Pictures, Relish Interactive)

Mindful Powers (Smashing Ideas)

News-O-Matic (News-O-Matic, Ali Bakkal CTO)

Best Game App—Branded

Barbie Dreamhouse Adventures (Budge Studios, Mattel)

Hotel Transylvania: Hotel Havoc (Biba, Sony Pictures Animations, Nelvana)

No Way That’s True (Nickelodeon—Digital Product & Games)

School of Rock: Together We Rock (Nickelodeon International Games)

The SpongeBob Challenge (Nickelodeon—Digital Product & Games)

Best Game App—Original

Animal Jam: Play Wild! (WildWorks)

My Town: Home (My Town)

Toca Mystery House (Toca Boca)

Best Streaming Video Platform



YouTube Kids

Best Web/App Series—Branded

Barbie Vlogger (Mattel Creations)

That’s the Spirit (Driver Digital Studios, DreamWorks)

The NERF Nation Show (Hasbro, King Studio)

Best Web/App Series—Original

Dixi Friends4Ever (Kindle Entertainment)

Does it Fart? (Yellow Bear Studios)

Kuroba! (Sutikki, Bento Box Entertainment)

Les Vlogues de Newton (Carte Blanche Films, Groupe Média TFO)

Safari Live (Nat Geo Kids)

Best Website

CBC Kids Olympics (CBC Kids)

Cyberchase (THIRTEEN/WNET)

Odd Squad (Sinking Ship Entertainment, Fred Rogers Productions, PBS KIDS)

These shortlisted entries are being reviewed and assessed by panels of professional judges, including the following execs: Sara DeWitt (PBS KIDS), Christine Elgersma (Common Sense Media), Albie Hecht (, Shai Samet (KidSafe), Robin Raskin (Living in Digital Times), Chris Lindgren (Toca Boca), Dylan Collins (SuperAwesome), David Kleeman (Dubit), Matthew Evans (Nickelodeon) and Miles Ludwig (Sesame Workshop).

All Kidscreen Awards winners will be announced at a special presentation event and after-party during Kidscreen Summit, on the evening of Tuesday, February 12. Additional details about the Kidscreen Awards, including categories, eligibility, judging and entry process, can be found at

Source: Kidscreen