Search form

New ‘Star Trek’ Trailer Boldly Goes Beyond

New trailer showcases spectacular visuals created by VFX house Double Negative as well as the close looks at the film’s cast.

Paramount Pictures has unveiled a new trailer for Star Trek Beyond, the third installment of the phenomenally successful reboot directed by Justin Lin. The previous film, Star Trek Into Darkness, grossed more than $467 million worldwide, making it the highest-grossing entry in the franchise.

In Star Trek Beyond, the Enterprise crew explores the furthest reaches of uncharted space, where they encounter a mysterious new enemy who puts them and everything the Federation stands for to the test. The first teaser, released back in December, introduced Pegg’s Lieutenant Commander Montgomery “Scotty” Scott. (Pegg, a Star Trek fan critical of Into Darkness, co-wrote the script with Doug Jung.)

The new trailer offers a lot more footage, including spectacular visuals created by VFX house DNeg and close looks at returning stars Chris Pine as Captain James T. Kirk, Zachary Quinto as Commander Spock, Karl Urban as Lieutenant Commander Dr. Leonard “Bones” McCoy, John Cho as Lieutenant Hikaru Sulu, Zoe Saldana as Lieutenant Nyota Uhura, Deep Roy as Keenser, and Anton Yelchin as Ensign Pavel Chekov, as well as newcomers Idris Elba, Sofia Boutella, Joe Taslim and Lydia Wilson. Check it out in the player below:

The primary visual effects house for Star Trek Beyond is Double Negative, with previsualization provided by Proof Inc.

Star Trek Beyond arrives in theaters in time to commemorate the sci-fi franchise’s 50th anniversary. Also on deck is the new Star Trek TV series, which is slated to debut on CBS in January 2017, prior to being made available through the network’s streaming service.

Star Trek Beyond transports into theaters on July 22.

Source: Paramount Pictures

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.