Search form

Netflix Greenlights ‘The Witcher’ Season 5, Kicks Off Season 4 Production

Streamer gives a go to the fifth and final chapter of the popular fantasy drama that chronicles the story of monster hunter Geralt of Rivia.

Netflix has begun production of The Witcher Season 4 and shared a sneak peek image of the cast at a recent table read. The streamer also greenlit Season 5, set to be the final chapter of Geralt’s story. The two seasons will adapt the remaining books of author Andrzej Sapkowski’s 6-book series, “Baptism of Fire,” “The Tower of the Swallow,” and “Lady of the Lake,” promising an epic conclusion to the popular fantasy drama.

In Season 4, after the Continent-altering events that closed out Season 3, episodes will follow Geralt, Yennefer, and Ciri, who, apart from each one another, must traverse the war-ravaged Continent and confront its many demons. If they can lead and embrace the groups of misfits they find themselves among, the trio has a chance of surviving the baptism of fire and reuniting with each other again.

“It is with huge pride that we begin shooting our penultimate season of The Witcher with a stellar cast, including some exciting new additions, led by Liam Hemsworth as Geralt of Rivia,” said creator, showrunner, and executive producer Lauren Schmidt Hissrich. “We’re thrilled to be able to bring Andrzej Sapkowski’s books to an epic and satisfying conclusion. It wouldn’t be our show if we didn’t push our family of characters to their absolute limit — stay tuned to see how the story ends.”

The cast features Hemsworth (Geralt of Rivia); Anya Chalotra (Yennefer of Vengerberg); Freya Allan (Princess Cirilla of Cintra); Joey Batey (Jaskier); Laurence Fishburne (Regis); Eamon Farren (Cahir); Anna Shaffer (Triss Merigold); Mimî M Khayisa (Fringilla); Cassie Clare (Philippa); Mahesh Jadu (Vilgefortz); Meng’er Zhang (Milva); Graham McTavish (Dijkstra); Royce Pierreson (Istredd); Mecia Simson (Francesca); Sharlto Copley (Leo Bonhart); Danny Woodburn (Zoltan); Jeremy Crawford (Yarpen); Bart Edwards (Emhyr); Hugh Skinner (Radovid); James Purefoy (Skellen); Christelle Elwin (Mistle); Fabian McCallum (Kayleigh); Juliette Alexandra (Reef); Ben Radcliffe (Giselher); Connor Crawford (Asse); Aggy K. Adams (Iskra); Linden Porco (Percival Schuttenbach); Therica Wilson-Read (Sabrina); Rochelle Rose (Margarita); and Safiyya Ingar (Keira).

Writers of series episodes include Schmidt Hissrich (401); Tania Lotia (402); Rae Benjamin (403); Troy Dangerfield (404); Matthew D’Ambrosio (405); Javier Grillo-Marxuach (406); Clare Higgins (407); and Mike Ostrowski (408).

Directors of series episodes include Sergio Mimica-Gezzan (401 & 402); Tricia Brock (403 & 404); Alex Garcia Lopez (405 & 406); and Jeremy Webb (407 & 408)

Steve Gaub, Mike Ostrowski, Javier Grillo-Marxuach, Platige Films (Tomek Baginski and Jarek Sawko), and Hivemind Content (Jason Brown and Sean Daniel) serve as executive producers.

Numerous VFX studios have contributed to the show’s previous seasons, including BUF, Cinesite; Clear Angle Studios, Framestore, Frontier VFX, Goldcrest VFX, ILM, Image Engine; Light VFX, One of Us; NetFX; Nviz; Picture Shop; Platige Image; Rodeo FX; RVX; MPC; Mr. X; The Third Floor; Tippett Studio; Troll VFX; VineFX; and Zoic Studios.

Source: Netflix

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is news editor at Animation World Network.