Search form

Netflix Drops Trailer and Images for ‘We the People’ Music Video Series

Created by Chris Nee and executive produced by Barack and Michelle Obama, animated shorts cover basic U.S. civics in an anything-but-basic way; Peter Ramsey, Trisha Gum, Jorge Gutierrez, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Daveed Digs and Amanda Gorman are just some of the artists participating.

Netflix has just dropped a trailer, images, and release date for We the People, a new series of 10 three-minute animated music videos that covers a range of basic U.S. civics lessons in an anything-but-basic way. Created by Chris Nee and executive produced by Barack and Michelle Obama, the series is designed to educate a new generation of young Americans about the power of the people; according to the streamer, it’s an “exuberant call to action for everyone to rethink civics as a living, breathing thing and to reframe their understanding of what government and citizenship mean in a modern world.”

Series directors, employing a visually compelling variety of animation styles, include Peter Ramsey, Trisha Gum, Victoria Vincent, Benjy Brooke, Mabel Ye, Tim Rauch, Jorge R. Gutierrez, Daron Nefcy, Everett Downing, and Kendra Ryan.  The equally impressive list of musical artists who’ve provided original songs for the project include H.E.R., Adam Lambert, Cordae, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Daveed Diggs, Brittany Howard, Robert Lopez, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Brandi Carlile, KYLE, Bebe Rexha, Andra Day, Janelle Monáe, and poet Amanda Gorman.

Time to get Civical!

We the People premieres July 4. The show is created by Nee, executive produced by Nee, Barack and Michelle Obama, Kenya Barris, Tonia Davis, and Priya Swaminathan, and produced by Ada Chiaghana, Erynn Sampson, and PeeDee Shindell

Source: Netflix

Dan Sarto's picture

Dan Sarto is Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network.