Search form

Medalists Revealed at 2018 Student Academy Awards

CalArts short ‘Raccoon and the Light’ and MoPA’s ‘The Green Bird’ win gold medals at 2018 Student Academy Awards.

‘Raccoon and the Light’ by Hanna Kim (California Institute of the Arts).

LOS ANGELES -- The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences honored its student winners from colleges and universities around the world at the 45th Student Academy Awards ceremony, held Thursday night at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. The Gold, Silver and Bronze Medal awards were announced and presented by documentarian Arthur Dong, actor and comedian Kumail Nanjiani and directors Catherine Hardwicke and Patricia Riggen.

The 2018 Student Academy Award winners are:

Alternative (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Gold: Shae Demandt, Reanimated, Florida State University

Animation (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Gold: Hanna Kim, Raccoon and the Light, California Institute of the Arts
  • Silver: Yu Yu, Daisy, University of Southern California
  • Bronze: Eaza Shukla, Re-Gifted, Ringling College of Art and Design

Animation (International Film Schools)

  • Gold: Pierre Perveyrie, Maximilien Bougeois, Marine Goalard, Irina Nguyen-Duc and Quentin Dubois, The Green Bird, MOPA

Documentary (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Gold: Mathieu Faure, An Edited Life, New York University
  • Silver: Yiying Li, Love & Loss, University of Southern California
  • Bronze: Lauren Schwartzman, Dust Rising, University of California, Berkeley

Documentary (International Film Schools)

  • Gold: Mart Bira, Nomadic Doctor, University of Hertfordshire

Narrative (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Gold: Hua Tong, Spring Flower, University of Southern California
  • Silver: Kelley Kali, Lalo’s House, University of Southern California
  • Bronze: Brian Robau, Esta Es Tu Cuba/”This Is Your Cuba,” Chapman University

Narrative (International Film Schools)

  • Gold: Jonatan Etzler, Get Ready with Me, Stockholm Academy of the Arts
  • Silver: Lisa Gertsch, Almost Everything, Zurich University of the Arts
  • Bronze: István Kovács, A Siege, University of Theatre and Film Arts, Budapest

See the full livestream of the ceremony in the player below:

Source: Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences