Search form

Marcy Page to Receive the Winsor McCay Award

The former NFB producer on animated short films like the Oscar-winning ‘Ryan’ and ‘The Danish Poet’ is being honored for ‘unparalleled achievement and exceptional contributions to animation;’ the ASIFA-Hollywood award will be presented at the 51st Annie Awards on February 17.

Former National Film Board of Canada (NFB) animation producer Marcy Page is one of this year’s recipients of the Winsor McCay Award, honoring “unparalleled achievement and exceptional contributions to animation.” The award will be presented on February 17, 2024, at the 51st Annie Awards by ASIFA-Hollywood, the Los Angeles branch of the International Animated Film Association. The other two recipients are Joe Hisaishi and the late Lotte Reiniger.

Born and raised in California, Page immigrated to Canada and joined the NFB in 1990, first as a director and associate producer and then as a producer. Her NFB credits include two Academy Award-winning animated shorts, Chris Landreth’s Ryan (2004) and Torill Kove’s The Danish Poet (2006), as well as producer credits on Oscar-nominated films: Kove’s My Grandmother Ironed the King’s Shirts (1999) and Me and My Moulton (2014); Chris Lavis and Maciek Szczerbowski’s Madame Tutli-Putli (2007); and Amanda Forbis and Wendy Tilby’s Wild Life (2011).

“On behalf of the National Film Board of Canada, congratulations, Marcy on this richly deserved tribute recognizing your immense contributions to the art of animation,” commented Suzanne Guèvremont, Government Film Commissioner and NFB Chairperson. “You’ve produced an amazing body of work during your distinguished career at the NFB, inspiring and mentoring countless animators.”

“I think we should all thank our lucky stars that we have Marcy,” shared Kove. “Not only because she is such an accomplished and gifted producer, but because she is an exceptionally lovely human being. I am sure there are many people around the world who will say that they cannot think of anyone more deserving of this award than Marcy Page. I am very happy to join that chorus of voices singing Marcy’s praises. She is and always will be a beacon in the international community of animation and a bright star in many, many lives.”

Throughout her NFB career, Page helped shape animated films with both emerging and seasoned directors, which together have garnered over 350 international awards and honors. She retired from producing at the NFB in 2014 to pursue directing and animating more personal work.

Page receives the ASIFA-Hollywood Winsor McCay Award one year after it was presented posthumously to Evelyn Lambart, a pioneering NFB woman animator. The award was established in 1972 and named in honor of animator Winsor McCay, a prolific artist and pioneer in the art of comic strips and animation.

Source: NFB

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is news editor at Animation World Network.