Search form

LittleBigPlanet, Dead Space Win Six NAViGaTR Awards Each

The winners of the 2008 NAViGaTR Awards were announced Monday, revealing the winners in 44 categories. Multiple awards went to Andrew Lackey, Claire Boissiere, Dave Feise, David Smith, David Swenson, Luci Black, Mark Healey, Martin Lynagh, and Michelle Ducker, which are three more than last year.

Out of its ten nominations, LITTLEBIGPLANET won six awards: Game of the Year, Game Design, Graphics/Technical, Innovation in Game Play, Original Children's Game, and Supporting Performance in a Comedy for Stephen Fry.

DEAD SPACE also won six awards: Animation in a Game Cinema, Camera Direction in a Game Engine, Lighting/Texturing, Sound Editing in a Game Cinema, Sound Effects, and Use of Sound.

Rounding out the top three is FALLOUT 3 with five awards: Art Direction in a Game Engine, Innovation in Game Technology, Writing in a Drama, Role Playing Game Sequel, and Lead Performance in a Drama for Liam Neeson. The only other multiple award winners were GRAND THEFT AUTO IV with three awards and PRINCE OF PERSIA with two awards. This year, no game achieved a trifecta with wins in all three disciplines of design, art, and sound.