Search form

‘Kensuke’s Kingdom’ Leads All Winners at the 2024 British Animation Awards

Neil Boyle and Kirk Hendry’s drama of a young boy swept overboard on a family sailing trip, who washes ashore on a remote island, takes home three awards, including Best Feature Film, at the ceremony held today at London’s BFI Southbank.

Kensuke’s Kingdom led all winners at the 2024 British Animation Awards (BAAs) ceremony held this evening at London’s BFI Southbank. Now in their 28th year, the BAAs is a biennial celebration of one of the U.K.’s most successful creative industries.

Highlights included Kensuke’s Kingdom, from Lupus Films and directed by Neil Boyle and Kirk Hendry, taking home three awards including Best Feature Film; The Amazing Maurice cast featuring Hugh Laurie, Emilia Clarke, Hugh Bonneville and Gemma Arterton wining for Best Voice Performance; and The Great British Bake Off taking the award for Best Animation in a Commercial.

The winners are listed in bold below, alongside the nominees. 

Best Feature Film

  • Chicken Run: Dawn of the Nugget (Sam Fell) produced by Aardman for Netflix
  • A Cat Called Dom - Will Anderson and Ainslie Henderson
  • Kensuke’s Kingdom (Neil Boyle, Kirk Hendry) – Lupus Film
  • Puffin Rock and the New Friends (Jeremy Purcell) produced by Cartoon Saloon and Dog Ear for Netflix
  • The Amazing Maurice (Toby Genkel, Florian Westermann) - Sky Cinema

Best Voice Performance

  • Mog’s Christmas - Channel 4
  • The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse - Apple Studios
  • The Amazing Maurice - Sky Cinema

Best Long Form

  • A Bear Named Wojtek - Iain Gardner
  • The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse - Peter Baynton, Charlie Mackesy
  • Peter and the Wolf - Stephen McNally, Elliot Dear
  • Mog’s Christmas - Robin Shaw

Best Short Film

  • Christopher at Sea - Tom C J Brown
  • The Debutante - Elizabeth Hobbs
  • All Gucci My Broski - Harry Plowden

Best Children’s Series

  • The Sound Collector: “Harp Strings”
  • The Rubbish World of Dave Spud: “Moonbreaker”
  • Lloyd of the Flies
  • Tweedy and Fluff

Best Animation in a Commercial

  • Blown Away for Admiral
  • The Great British Bake Off Official Trailer for Channel 4
  • The Lords of Water for The Lords of Water

Best Music Video

  • Carry You for Ruelle
  • Tell Me Where to Go for JPEGMAFIA x Danny Brown
  • Late Nights for DeathbyRomy/Adult Swim

Best Children’s Pre-School Series

  • Hey Duggee
  • The Adventures of Paddington
  • The Very Small Creatures
  • Odo 

Best International Animated Series

  • Captain Fall
  •  Milo
  • The Tiny Chef Show
  • Supa Team 4

Best Factual Award 

  • Jeremy, My Father - Miranda Peyton Jones
  • Something More - Mary Martins
  • Another Presence - Simon Ball
  • A Taste for Music - Jordan Antonowicz-Behnan


  • The Beatles Vs The Stones - Andrew Kelleher
  • Two Gracious Uncles Smooched to the Beat - Jon Dunleavy
  • Hairy Houdini - Trevor Hardy

Best Undergraduate Film

  • The Moonseeker – Diana Blázquez Martín, Katherine Galley
  • hyposoMIAOW – Yunxin Zou
  • Cortex - Sena Miyazaki

Best Postgraduate Film

  • Death of The Gods – Leto Stojanovic Meade
  • Spring Roll Dream – Mai Vu
  • The Wolf of Custer – Tanya J Scott
  • Crab Day – Ross Stringer

The Social Good Award

  • Change the Ending - againstallodds
  • Ask Me How I Am - Zan Barberton and Joseph Clark
  • Inner Polar Bear - Gerald Conn.

Best Original Music

  • Stuart Hancock for Kensuke’s Kingdom
  • Beth Porter and Ben Please for Tweedy & Fluff
  • David Arnold for Mog’s Christmas

Writer’s Award

  • Andrew Barnett Jones and Ciaran Murtagh for Lloyd of the Flies: “Gummy Goes Off”
  • Frank Cottrell-Boyce for Kensuke’s Kingdom
  • Edward Foster for The Rubbish World of Dave Spud: “Olden Days”
  • Hamish Steele for Dead End: Paranormal Park: “210 The Watcher’s Test”

Best Design

  • Ms Marvel – Ian Spendloff
  • Odo - Mum – Piotr Szczepanowicz, Mikolaj Pilchowski 
  • Puffin Rock and the New Friends – Jeremy Purcel

Best Use of Sound

  • Kensuke’s Kingdom – Neil Boyle, Kirk Hendry
  • The Smeds and the Smoos – Daniel Snaddon, Samantha Cutler 
  • The Sound Collector: “Harp Strings” – Chris Tichborne

Cutting Edge Award

  • Beware of Trains - Emma Calder
  • Silly Duck - Alec Smith
  • Wallace & Gromit in the Grand Getaway - Bram Ttwheam and Finbar Hawkins
  • The Line Experiments - Antoine Perez.

Lamb Award - recognizes rising stars in any field of animation or VFX production

  • Beatriz Diosdado Masa - Blue Zoo
  • Aiesha Penwarden - Skylark Films/Big Squid Ink Ltd
  • Malachi James - Blue Zoo

Children’s Choice Award - decided by students at St. Mary Redcliffe Primary School in Bristol:

  • Dead End: Paranormal Park
  • Supertato
  • The Heroic Quest of the Valiant Prince Ivandoe: “The Prince and the Valiant Quest”
  • Lego City: “No Limits” (episode 6)

Source: British Animation Awards

Dan Sarto's picture

Dan Sarto is Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network.