Search form

Josh Gad, Matthew Rhys, and Philippa Soo to Present at 48th Virtual Annie Awards

Streaming live on April 16, the event honors overall excellence and achievement in 36 animation categories; presenters announced also include Eva Whittaker; composer Michael Giacchino; director Sergio Pablos; DreamWorks director Jill Culton; producer Nora Twomey; and the cast of the web series, ‘Critical Role.’

ASIFA-Hollywood announced its slate of presenters for the 48th Virtual Annie Awards to stream live courtesy of Variety on Friday, April 16 at 7 p.m. PST. Watch the event here.

Presenters include actors Josh Gad; Matthew Rhys; Philippa Soo (Hamilton); Eva Whittaker; Oscar winning composer, Michael Giacchino; last year’s Annie winning director Sergio Pablos (Klaus); DreamWorks director Jill Culton (Abominable), producer Nora Twomey (Wolfwalkers); and the cast of the web series, Critical Role. Additional presenters will be confirmed soon.

The Annie Awards honor overall excellence as well as individual achievement in a total of 36 categories including Best Animated Feature, Best Animated Special Production, Commercials, Short Subjects and Outstanding Individual Achievements.

Some of this year’s nominees and honorees are as follows – you can view the complete list here:

This year’s Best Animated Feature nominations include:

  • Onward (Pixar Animation Studios),
  • Soul (Pixar Animation Studios),
  • The Croods: A New Age (DreamWorks Animation),
  • The Willoughbys (Netflix Presents A BRON Animation Production in association with Creative Wealth Media)
  • Trolls World Tour (DreamWorks Animation).

Best Animated Feature-Independent, spotlighting features with a much smaller distribution footprint than major studio releases, include:

  • A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon (Studiocanal and Aardman present in association with Anton Capital Entertainment an Aardman Production for Netflix)
  • Calamity Jane (Maybe Movies)
  • On-Gaku: Our Sound (Rock’n Roll Mountain, Tip Top)
  • Ride Your Wave (Science SARU)
  • Wolfwalkers (Apple/GKIDS).

The Winsor McCay Award for career contributions to the art of animation are being presented to three recipients:

  • Willie Ito
  • Sue Nichols (posthumously)
  • Bruce Smith.

The June Foray Award – In recognition of significant and benevolent or charitable impact on the art and industry of animation – to be awarded to:

  • Daisuke “Dice” Tsutsumi - animator and art director

The Ub Iwerks Award – In recognition for technical advancement that has made a significant impact on the art and industry of animation - to be awarded to:

  • Epic Games for its Unreal Engine

The Special Achievement Award recognizing the unique and significant impact on the art and industry of animation - to be awarded to:

  • Howard - Documentary (Stone Circle Pictures).

This year’s sponsors include: Platinum Level – Walt Disney Animation Studios/Pixar; DreamWorks Animation; Netflix; Nickelodeon; Cartoon Network/Warner Bros. Animation; and Variety. Gold Level – Disney TV Animation; Silver Level – Apple and Pixar Animation Studios; Bronze Level – Epic Games, Skydance Animation, and Sony Pictures Animation; and Education/Nonprofit Level – Animation Guild and Sheridan College.

Source: ASIFA-Hollywood