Search form

Hollywood Professional Association Unveils 2016 HPA Awards Nominees

Creative nominations announced for editing, sound, visual effects and color grading.

LOS ANGELES -- The Hollywood Professional Association has announced the nominees for its 2016 HPA Awards. The HPA Awards honor creative achievement and artistic excellence. Launched in 2006, the HPA Awards recognize outstanding achievement in editing, sound, visual effects and color grading for work in television, commercials, and feature films. The winners of the 11th Annual HPA Awards will be announced at a gala ceremony on November 17, 2016 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, CA.

The 2016 HPA Award nominees are:

Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film

  • Carol – John Dowdell, Goldcrest Post Productions Ltd
  • The Revenant – Steven J. Scott, Technicolor Production Services
  • Brooklyn – Asa Shoul, Molinare
  • The Martian – Stephen Nakamura, Company 3
  • The Jungle Book – Steven J. Scott, Technicolor Production Services

Outstanding Color Grading – Television

  • Vinyl “E.A.B” – Steven Bodner, Deluxe/Encore NY
  • Fargo “The Myth of Sysiphus” – Mark Kueper, Technicolor
  • Outlander “Faith” – Steven Porter, MTI Film
  • Gotham “By Fire” – Paul Westerbeck, Encore Hollywood
  • Show Me A Hero – Part 1 – Sam Daley, Technicolor PostWorks NY

Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial

  • Fallout 4 – “The Wanderer” – Siggy Ferstl, Company 3
  • Toyota Prius – “Poncho” – Sofie Borup, Company 3
  • Nascar – “Team” – Lez Rudge, Nice Shoes
  • Audi R8 – “Commander” – Stefan Sonnenfeld, Company 3
  • Apple Music – “History of Sound” – Gregory Reese, The Mill
  • Pennzoil – “Joyride Circuit” – Dave Hussey, Company 3
  • Hennessy – “Odyssey” – Tom Poole, Company 3

Outstanding Editing – Feature Film

  • The Martian – Pietro Scalia, ACE
  • The Revenant – Stephen Mirrione, ACE
  • The Big Short – Hank Corwin, ACE
  • Sicario – Joe Walker, ACE
  • Spotlight – Tom McArdle, ACE

Outstanding Editing – Television

  • Body Team 12 – David Darg, RYOT Films
  • Underground – “The Macon 7” – Zack Arnold, Ian Tan, Sony Pictures Television
  • Vinyl – Pilot – David Tedeschi
  • Roots – “Night One” – Martin Nicholson, ACE, Greg Babor
  • Game of Thrones – “Battle of the Bastards” – Tim Porter, ACE

Outstanding Editing – Commercial

  • Wilson – “Nothing Without It” – Doobie White, Therapy Studios
  • Nespresso – “Training Day” – Chris Franklin, Big Sky Edit
  • Saucony – “Be A Seeker” – Lenny Mesina, Therapy Studios
  • Samsung – “Teresa” – Kristin McCasey, Therapy Studios

Outstanding Sound – Feature Film

  • Room – Steve Fanagan, Niall Brady, Ken Galvin, Ardmore Sound
  • Eye in the Sky – Craig Mann, Adam Jenkins, Bill R. Dean, Chase Keehn, Technicolor Creative Services
  • Batman VS Superman: Dawn of Justice – Scott Hecker, Formosa Group; Chris Jenkins, Michael Keller, Warner Bros. Post Production Services
  • Zootopia – David Fluhr, CAS, Gabriel Guy, CAS, Addison Teague, Walt Disney Company
  • Sicario – Alan Murray, Tom Ozanich, John Reitz, Warner Bros. Post Production Services
  • Outstanding Sound – Television
  • Outlander – “Prestonpans” – Nello Torri, Alan Decker, NBCUniversal Post Sound
  • Game of Thrones – “Battle of the Bastards” – Tim Kimmel, MPSE, Paula Fairfield, Mathew Waters, CAS, Onnalee Blank, CAS, Bradley C. Katona, Paul Bercovitch, Formosa Group
  • Preacher – “See” – Richard Yawn, Mark Linden, Tara Paul, Sony Sound
  • Marco Polo – “One Hundred Eyes” – David Paterson, Roberto Fernandez, Alexa Zimmerman, Glenfield Payne, Rachel Chancey, Harbor Picture Company
  • House of Cards – “Chapter 45” – Jeremy Molod, Ren Klyce, Nathan Nance, Scott R. Lewis, Jonathan Stevens, Skywalker Sound

Outstanding Sound – Commercial

  • Sainsbury’s – ­“Mog’s Christmas Calamity” – Anthony Moore, Neil Johnson, Factory
  • Save the Children UK – “Still The Most Shocking Second A Day” – Jon Clarke, Factory
  • Wilson – “Nothing Without It” – Doobie White, Therapy Studios
  • Honda – “Paper” – Phil Bolland, Factory
  • Honda – “Ignition” – Anthony Moore, Factory

Outstanding Visual Effects – Feature Film

  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Jay Cooper, Yanick Dusseault, Rick Hankins, Carlos Munoz, Polly Ing, Industrial Light & Magic
  • The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Andrew R. Jones, Adam Valdez, Charley Henley, MPC; Keith Miller, Weta Digital
  • Captain America: Civil War – Russell Earl, Steve Rawlins, Francois Lambert, Pat Conran, Rhys Claringbull, Industrial Light & Magic
  • The Martian – Chris Lawrence, Neil Weatherley, Bronwyn Edwards, Dale Newton, Framestore
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows – Pablo Helman, Robert Weaver, Kevin Martel, Shawn Kelly, Nelson Sepulveda, Industrial Light & Magic

Outstanding Visual Effects – Television

  • Supergirl – Pilot – Armen V. Kevorkian, Andranik Taranyan, Gevork Babityan, Elaina Scott, Art Sayan, Encore VFX
  • Ripper Street – “The Strangers’ Home” – Ed Bruce, Nicholas Murphy, Denny Cahill, John O’Connell, Screen Scene
  • Black Sails – “XXI” – Erik Henry, Starz; Matt Dougan, Digital Domain; Martin Ogren, Jens Tenland, Nicklas Andersson, ILP
  • The Flash – “Guerilla Warfare” – Armen V. Kevorkian, Thomas J. Conners, Andranik Taranyan, Gevork Babityan, Jason Shulman, Encore VFX
  • Game of Thrones – “Battle of the Bastards” – Joe Bauer, Eric Carney, Fire & Blood Productions; Derek Spears, Rhythm & Hues Studios; Glenn Melenhorst, Iloura; Matthew Rouleau, Rodeo FX

Outstanding Visual Effects – Commercial

  • Sainsbury’s – “Mog’s Christmas Calamity” – Ben Cronin, Grant Walker, Rafael Camacho, Framestore
  • Microsoft Xbox – “Halo 5: The Hunt Begins” – Ben Walsh, Ian Holland, Brian Delmonico, Brian Burke, Method Studios
  • AT&T – “Power of &” – James Dick, Corrina Wilson, Euna Kho, Callum McKeveny, Framestore
  • Kohler – “Never Too Next” – Andy Boyd, Jake Montgomery, Zachary DiMaria, David Hernandez, JAMM
  • Gatorade – “Sports Fuel” – JD Yepes, Richard Shallcross, Framestore

Recipients of a number of special awards have been previously announced by the HPA. Herb Dow, ACE, will be honored with the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award. Michelle Munson, CEO of Aspera, will receive The Charles S. Swartz Award, and The Mill BLACKBIRD has been tapped to receive the HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation. Winners of the coveted Engineering Excellence Award include Aspera, Grass Valley, RealD and SGO. Grass Valley and Canon USA received Honorable Mention in the Engineering Excellence category.

The HPA Awards gala ceremony is expected to be a sold out affair and early ticket purchase is encouraged. Tickets for the HPA Awards are on sale now and can be purchased online here.

Source: The Hollywood Professional Association