Search form

Hollyshorts Fest Announces 2016 Animation Lineup

August 12 Adult Animation Program includes Oscar-winning animated short ‘Bear Story,’ ‘Man O Man’ from Simon Cartwright and Ely Dagher’s Palm D’or winner ‘Waves 98.’

HOLLYWOOD -- The official selections for the 12th Annual HollyShorts Film Festival have been announced. Over 400 of the world’s best short films will be showcased during the annual celebration, which has emerged as a leading discovery platforms for the next generation of storytellers in Los Angeles. HollyShorts takes place August 11-20 at the TCL Chinese 6 Theatres and other locations throughout Hollywood. The festival has unveiled its animated shorts official selections.

The August 12 Adult Animation Program features top selections including: Bear Story the 2016 Oscar winning animated short film from Chilean Director Gabriel Osorio, Festival Du Cannes Official Selection Man O Man from Simon Cartwright (UK). The Cannes Film Festival Palm D’or winner, from Lebanese Director Ely Dagher Waves 98 is also in competition in the block.

 The full HollyShorts Animated Shorts Lineup is below:

  • Worm by Becky James
  • Needle Town by Kaspar Synnevag and henrik Hylland Uhlving
  • Waves 98 by Ely Dagher
  • Bear Story by Gabriel Osorio
  • Toilets by Laura Luchetti
  • Battery Life by Justin Nixon
  • Where Have The Flowers Gone? by Sin-hong Chan
  • Islander’s Rest by Sunit Parekh
  • Manoman by Simon Cartwright
  • Cage by Pengpeng Du
  • Little Shimajiro by Isamu Hirabayashi
  • The Peculiar Adventures of Willow B. Star by Mark Simon
  • The Wishgranter by Echo Wu, Kal Athannassov, and John McDonald
  • Claire & The Keys by John Ludwick
  • Pancakes by Ezra J. Stanley
  • James by Kyle McCauley
  • Napoleon: The Ticket by Matthew Berenty
  • Knob by hans Tsai 

HollyShorts has expanded its presence in Hollywood this year with newly added venues and hotel partners including: The Harmony Gold Theater, Ignited Spaces, OHM Nightclub, the Roosevelt Hotel, Avenue 17 Studios, 33 Taps and The Redbury Hollywood among other major locations.

For the first time, this year’s films will be available for online viewing exclusively for a one-week digital window during the festival through HollyShorts’ official streaming partner and sponsor BITPIX, which is currently available via web, Roku and Amazon Fire. Festival screening tickets, schedule and all access passes for HollyShorts are now available for purchase here.  

This year’s HollyShorts official lineup features ground breaking shorts and world premieres. The 2016 festival’s competitive schedule includes some of the following titles, the full schedule can be viewed on the festival’s website. Nearly 3,000 films from every continent were submitted for consideration for this year’s festival.

Actress, Director and Producer Jennifer Morrison (ABC’s Once Upon a Time) will be honored with the 2016 HollyShorts Trailblazer Award presented by Women in Film at the 12 Annual Festival. She will accept the Award during the festival’s opening night celebration.

The top 12-15 winning films from this year’s competition will receive a one-week theatrical run in theaters following the festival, qualifying them for Awards season.

Source: HollyShorts