Search form

‘Hipopotamy,’ ‘Seth’s Dominion’ Take Top Prizes at Ottawa

The 2014 Grand Prize for Best Animated Feature is given to ‘Seth’s Dominion’ by Luc Chamberland at the Ottawa International Animation Festival; ‘Hipopotamy’ by Piotr Dumala wins the Nelvana 2014 Grand Prize for Best Short Animation.

‘Hipopotamy’ by Piotr Dumala

OTTAWA -- The Ottawa International Animation Festival (OIAF) competition component has come to an end with the highly anticipated award ceremonies, which were held this evening at St. Brigid’s Centre for the Arts. OIAF organizers announced the 2014 winners of the official competition during the ceremonies.

This year’s OIAF, which is in full swing, began on September 17th and ends tomorrow, September 21st. The Festival has once again been a tremendous success with packed screenings, workshops, and high profile networking events such as TAC -- The Animation Conference. Screenings will continue tomorrow.

This year the festival received 2,033 entries from 70 different countries, selecting 101 short films and 5 feature films. An additional 71 films are showing out-of-competition in Showcase screenings.

The OIAF is a major international film event that attracts more than 28,000 film buffs, art lovers, producers, and cartoon fans from around the world.

The members of the 2014 Jury for the Short Program include Claire Blanchet (Canada), Philip Hunt (U.K.), and Maria Tereschenko (Russia). The members of the Jury for the Animated Feature Film Competition include David OReilly (Ireland), Patrice James (Canada), and Tom Warburton (U.S.). The jury for Best Short Animation for Children is Stephen Fortier, Jacob Bouse, and David Cuevas. Finally, the members of the Jury for the Best Animation Series for Children are Anna Demarbre, Paige Robert and Callia Bouse.

 The Nelvana 2014 GRAND PRIZE for Best Short Animation:

Hipopotamy by Piotr Dumala (Poland)

Honorable Mention:
Butter Ya’ Self by Julian Petschek (USA)

The 2014 GRAND PRIZE for Best Animated Feature:

Seth’s Dominion by Luc Chamberland (Canada)

The 2014 Canadian Film Institute (CFI) Award for Best Canadian Animation is:

1000 Plateaus (2004-2014) by Steve Woloshen

Honorable Mentions: 
Soif by Michele Cournoyer
MTL Rush by Matthieu Guimond

Sony Pictures Animation Public Prize

We Can't Live Without Cosmos by Konstantin Bronzit (Russia)

Best Narrative Short Animation:

Marilyn Myller by Mikey Please (UK & United States)

Honorable Mention:
Phantom Limb by Alex Grigg (UK & Australia)

Best Laika Experimental/ Abstract Animation:

Eager by Allison Schulnik (USA)

Honorable Mention:
Totem by Caleb Wood (USA)

Walt Disney Award for Best Graduation Animation:

Things Don't Fit by Tim Divall (UK)

Honorable Mentions:
Somewhere by Nicolas Ménard (UK)
Crazy Little Things by Onohana (Japan)

Best Undergraduate Animation:

Lesley the Pony Has an A+ Day by Christian Larrave (USA)

Best High School Animation:

Priorities by Gints Zilbalodis (Latvia)

Honorable Mention:
Dance of Death by Choi Ye Won, Lee young guen & Park So Young (South Korea)

Best Animation School Showreel:

Rhode Island School of Design (USA)

Honorable Mention:
Tokyo School of the Arts (Japan)

Best Canadian Student Animation:

Soupe aux Carottes, Charles Lavoie, Concordia University

Honorable Mention:
Lucy & the Limbs, Edlyn Capulong, Sheridan College MTL Rush, Mathieu Guimond, Concordia University

Best Promotional Animation:

Holland Animation Film Festival '2014 Festival Leader' by Andreas Hykade (Germany & Netherlands)

Honorable Mention:
2013 Festival National du Film d'Animation 'Fight!' by Marc James Roels (Belgium & France)

Best Music Video:

Christopher Bono 'Unity' by Tobias Stretch (USA)

Honorable Mention to:
James 'Moving On' by Ainslie Henderson (UK)

Best Animation Series for Adults:

Crime: The Animated Series by Sam Chou & Alix Lambert (USA)

Honorable Mention:
Heaven’s Countryland Part 1: Childhood story of Kim Jong Un by David Oreilly (USA)

Best Short Animation for Children:

Magic Time by Kine Aune (Norway)

Honorable Mention:
Anatole's Little Saucepan by Eric Montchaud (France)
The Fish-Tale Girl by Serhiy Melnichenko (Ukraine)

Best Animation Series for Children:

Les larmes du crocodile by Agnés Lecreux, Steven De Beul & Ben Tesseur (France)

Honorable Mention:
Regular Show “The Last Laserdisc Player” by JG Quintel (USA)
The Scent of Carrots by Arnaud Demuynck & Rémi Durin (France)

Source: The Ottawa International Animation Festival

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Formerly Editor-in-Chief of Animation World Network, Jennifer Wolfe has worked in the Media & Entertainment industry as a writer and PR professional since 2003.