Search form

‘Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio,’ ‘Avatar: The Way of Water’ Take Top Honors at 13th Annual Lumiere Awards

The Advanced Imaging Society’s annual event honors distinguished creative and technical achievement in motion pictures, television, and emerging media; special award went to Wētā FX for creative excellence in VFX and Adobe for innovation in post tools.

Today, The Advanced Imaging Society’s Lumiere Awards awarded 23 statuettes for distinguished creative and technical achievement. This year’s theme, “Behind the Legend,” celebrated the creative teams behind the scenes who are creating legendary stories and characters for audiences.

The awards are voted for by members of the Hollywood creative and technology community working in motion pictures, television, and emerging media.

“Our awards have humorously been called the Oscars for geeks,” remarked Jim Chabin, AIS President. “But these honorees do give us insights into the future of movies. These Lumiere winners pushed the limits of technology and the results have been remarkable storytelling at its very best.”

The complete list of winners:

  • Best Feature Film - Live Action: Avatar: The Way of Water (20th Century Studios)
  • Best Feature Film – Animated: Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio (Netflix)
  • Best Documentary: Good Night Oppy (Amazon)
  • Best Motion Picture - Musical: Elvis (Warner Bros)
  • Best Audio – Theatrical: The Batman (Warner Bros.)
  • Best Audio – Episodic: Stranger Things: Season Four (Netflix)
  • Best Use of VR: Gorilla Trek (Immotion)
  • Best Original Song: Top Gun “Hold My Hand” (Paramount)
  • Best Use of High Dynamic Range – Feature Film: Lightyear (Pixar)
  • Best Use of High Dynamic Range – Episodic: I Am Groot (Marvel)
  • Best 2D to 3D Conversion: Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (Marvel Studios/ Disney)
  • Best Musical Scene or Sequence: Elvis (Warner Bros)
  • Best Scene or Sequence in a Feature Film: Top Gun: Maverick (Paramount)
  • Best Episodic – Animated: Star Wars: Tales of the Jedi (Lucasfilm/Disney)
  • Best Episodic – Live Action: Andor (Lucasfilm/Disney)
  • Best Achievement in 8K Production: Kansai TV’s “moments”
  • Sir Charles Wheatstone Award for Creative Excellence in Visual Effects: Wētā FX
  • Innovation in Technology Award: Microsoft
  • Innovation in Post Production Tools: Adobe
  • Distinguished Achievement in Education: Camera Assessment Series (HBO)
  • Voices For The Earth Award: James Cameron and Jon Landau, Avatar: The Way of Water
  • Gene Kelly Visionary Award: Damien Chazelle, Babylon
  • Harold Lloyd Award: Baz Luhrmann, Elvis

Source: Advanced Imaging Society

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is news editor at Animation World Network.