Search form

'Genndy Tartakovsky’s Primal’ Takes Home 3 Juried Emmy Awards

The Adult Swim production is joined by FXX’s ‘Archer’ and National Geographic’s ‘Cosmos: Possible Worlds’ in the Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation category.

The Television Academy today announced their juried award winners for the 72nd Emmy Awards in the categories of animation, choreography, interactive programming, and motion design; the awards will be presented at the 2020 Creative Arts Awards ceremony on Thursday, September 17, streaming on

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation awards were presented to the following shows and artists:

  • Archer, “Road Trip,” FX Networks; FX Productions - Jill Dykxhoorn, Lead Background Artist
  • Cosmos: Possible Worlds, “Vavilov,” National Geographic; Possible Worlds LLC in association with FOX - Dan MacKenzie, Character Animator
  • Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal, “Spear and Fang,” Adult Swim; Cartoon Network Studios - Genndy Tartakovsky, Storyboard Artist
  • Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal, “Spear and Fang,” Adult Swim; Cartoon Network Studios -Scott Wills, Art Director
  • Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal, “A Cold Death,” Adult Swim; Cartoon Network Studios - Stephen DeStefano, Character Designer

Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal received three awards for Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation; this is the fourth Emmy awarded to the iconic Russian born animator who is known for numerous iconic TV series including Dexter’s Laboratory, which was based on a student film he produced while at CalArts; The Power Puff Girls; and the series, Samuri Jack, one of his most acclaimed projects. He is also the creative force behind Sony Pictures Animation’s hit Hotel Transylvania movie franchise.

This is the second Emmy for Archer, with the award going to Jill Dykxhoorn, lead background artist. In 2016, the popular adult comedy animated series was honored with Outstanding Animated Program. Since debuting in 2009, It has received an additional 5 Emmy nominations.

Outstanding Motion Design was presented to the following show and artists:

  • Inside Bill's Brain: Decoding Bill Gates, Netflix; A Concordia Studio Production - Leanne Dare, creative director; Eben McCue, animator; Sebastian Hoppe-Fuentes, animator; David Navas, animator

This was Leanne Dare’s second Emmy win, having won in the same category in 2017 for Netflix’s Forward Movement. This was the first win for Eben McCue, Sebastian Hoppe-Fuentes and David Navas.

Juried categories require all entrants to be screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer group with the possibility of one, more than one or no entry being awarded an Emmy. Therefore, there are no nominees but instead a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant's work with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy.

The 2020 Creative Arts Emmy Awards will stream on for four consecutive nights beginning Monday, September 14-17, at 8:00 p.m. EDT/5:00 p.m. PDT with a fifth broadcast ceremony on Saturday, September 19, at 8:00 p.m. EDT/5:00 p.m. PDT on FXX. All five shows will be produced by Bob Bain Productions.

Source: The Television Academy