Search form

Gale Anne Hurd to Receive VES Lifetime Achievement Award

The Visual Effects Society to honor the award-winning producer's contributions in visual arts, filmed entertainment and the advancement of storytelling through cutting-edge visual effects; will be presented at the 21st Annual VES Awards next month.

The Visual Effects Society (VES) announced today that award-winning producer-screenwriter Gale Anne Hurd will receive the VES Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of her contributions to visual arts and filmed entertainment. The award will be presented at the 21st Annual VES Awards on February 15 at The Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Presented by the VES Board of Directors, the award recognizes an individual and their outstanding body of work that has significantly contributed to the art and/or science of the visual effects industry.

Hurd will be honored for her dedication to the industry and the advancement of unforgettable storytelling through cutting-edge visual effects. With credits that include The Terminator, Aliens, Terminator 2: Judgement Day, and Armageddon, as well as TV juggernaut The Walking Dead, Hurd has been instrumental in shaping popular culture for nearly four decades. She has also revolutionized action cinema while delivering transformational depictions of women on screen and has been a prolific producer of Academy Award-winning films and Emmy Award-winning programs.

“Gale Anne Hurd is one of the most respected and influential film and television producers of our generation,” said VES Chair Lisa Cooke. “By focusing on daring material, championing technological innovations, and being the consummate hands-on collaborator, she has carved out a leading position in the previously male-dominated world of the blockbuster and become a recognized creator of iconic cultural touchstones.  Gale is a driving force in our global industry and an exemplary role model, and we are very honored to bestow her with the VES Lifetime Achievement Award.” 

Previous winners of the VES Lifetime Achievement Award have included Martin Scorsese, George Lucas, Robert Zemeckis, Dennis Muren, VES, Steven Spielberg, Kathleen Kennedy & Frank Marshall, James Cameron, Ray Harryhausen, Stan Lee, Richard Edlund, VES, John Dykstra, Sir Ridley Scott, Ken Ralston, VES, Jon Favreau, Chris Meledandri, Lynwen Brennan and Sir Peter Jackson.

The official announcement, including a summary of Hurd’s credits, is available here.

Source: The Visual Effects Society

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is news editor at Animation World Network.