Search form

Framestore Selects Winning Internship VFX Competition Teams

Remote program mentors recent VFX grads competing for prizes and job opportunities at VFX studio’s Montreal or London office. 

Seven winning teams have been selected to receive expert guidance, mentoring and support in the next stage of Framestore’s Launchpad Internship Competition. Over 100 teams entered the competition, with the selected groups making the final cut. The competition tasks the artists to craft an original 30-second film, with the theme “The Future of VFX,” in either full CG or a combination of CG and live-action. The teams will work remotely, with eight weeks to produce a concept, project plan and finished film.

The winners will receive mentoring and training while competing for several prizes; the top prize is a job at Framestore's Montreal or London offices.

The panel of judges includes Christian Manz, creative director; Chloë Grysole, managing director of Framestore’s Montreal studio; Suzanne Jandu, head of 2D for advertising; Will Bartlett, executive creative director; and Anne Fossier from the The Quebec Film and Television Council.

“Our Launchpad internship has been a successful steppingstone for aspiring artists to get first-hand experience into the world of visual effects for 15 years now,” commented Framestore’s global head of talent, film, Amy Smith. “While many companies have been forced to close their internship schemes altogether due to coronavirus we’re pleased to have been able to find a solution that supports the next generation of artists and helps them deepen their knowledge within this new work from home reality. We’d also like to thank our suppliers and partners Autodesk, Foundry, SideFX and Simple Cloud Animation for providing tools for our interns.”

The Launchpad Internship Competition is specifically for recent VFX grads with little to no practical work experience within the industry.

The winning teams are as follows:

The Mayans:

  • Louis Brisson
  • Pascal Deslauriers
  • Stéphane Nadeau
  • Romain Montigny
  • Yi Ying Tang (Tristan)
  • Maxence Hvizdak

Quarantine Crew

  • Tom Fortin
  • Mitchell Hardy
  • Hongming Zhang
  • Nilska Ponce Perez
  • Jonathan Jankowiak
  • Malenie Yang


  • Johannes Boivin
  • Ahmer Ali
  • Andreanne Dussault
  • Nicolas Leclerc
  • Jayson Vongprachanh

Every Day We Render:

  • Ana Luisa MagioliAnoshka Jhaveri
  • Diana Valencia
  • Samriddhi Joshi
  • Wuttipat Ngoenpechploy


  • Emily Shordon
  • Amy Wright
  • Patrick Paguio
  • Daniel Ravanelli
  • Elliot Holland-Crouch


  • Vera Falkenberg
  • Samantha Leung
  • Fabienne Schwarz
  • Livia Werren

Send Nodes:

  • Martin Dorfer
  • Daniel Poschinger
  • Julius Burton
  • Mario Gabor Seregi
  • Amelia Vallender
  • Tom Prendergast

For information about next year’s program, click here.

Source: Framework