Search form

Foundry Announces Foundry Live Summer Edition Running July 16 -23

Virtual event to feature industry focused education sessions with virtual meetups on look development, lighting, and 3D design.

LONDON -- Foundry, developer of creative software for the media, entertainment, and digital design industries, has announced the launch of the summer edition of Foundry Live - their biggest online event of the year, taking place July 16-23, 2020.

Building on the success of the virtual events program launched earlier this year, Foundry Live supports technology innovation and showcases how the company’s products can be used in studio and artist pipelines to achieve the best quality results in VFX and animation. 

With support from Dell and NVIDIA, this edition will focus on highlighting the latest updates from Foundry. It will bring an industry-focused education session together with virtual meetups on look development and lighting, and 3D design.

The event’s highlight will be a special Nuke session on July 21 that promises a long-awaited announcement. Advanced registration is available here.

Detailed schedule for the summer edition of Foundry Live:

Foundry’s Education Summit:

Thursday, July 16 - 4:00 p.m. BST | 11:00 a.m. EST | 8:00 a.m. PST

  • The Education Summit will share learnings from VFX professors, instructors and industry professionals as to why teaching Foundry’s software helps to enable the next generation of VFX artists to land their dream job, providing them with the know-how to succeed beyond the classroom.
  • Foundry’s Education Summit will bring together universities from all over the world:  University of Hertfordshire (UK), Escola Britânica de Artes Criativas (Brazil), Think Tank (Canada), Brooklyn Workforce Innovation (US) and ILM's global Jedi Academy.

Look Development & Lighting Virtual Meet-up:

Monday, July 20 - 6:00 p.m. BST | 1:00 p.m. EST | 10:00 a.m. PST

  • Foundry will host a virtual meet-up to showcase what the future holds for Mari and Katana. Katana’s upcoming release is tipped to be a game-changer for look development and lighting artists.
  • The session will have guest speakers like Nathan Rusch - senior developer at Luma Pictures; Cristian Camraoschi, CG supervisor at Mr. X; Jens Kafitz, texture artist and Mari extension pack developer who will share the behind-the-scenes of some of their latest projects.

Nuke 12.2 release and special announcement:

Tuesday, July 21 - 6:00 p.m. BST | 1:00 p.m. EST | 10:00 a.m. PST

  • Director of product - compositing & finishing, Christy Anzelmo, and Nuke associate product manager, Chris Andrewartha will dive into Nuke 12.2 and show how it will empower creatives across the globe. Expect updates across the Nuke family from new 2D and 3D format support to fresh SyncReview functionality in Nuke Studio, Hiero and HieroPlayer—perfect for teams working remotely.
  • Nuke 12.2 includes something special for artists around the globe.

3D Design Virtual Modo Meet-Up:

Thursday, July 23 - 9:00 p.m. BST | 5:00 p.m. EST | 2:00 p.m. PST

  • This session will explore the evolution of Modo and how it is shaping design creation in a wide range of industries today.
  • Join the Modo product designers and developers during a series of interviews with industry professionals for a behind-the-scenes look at the upcoming Modo 14.1 release. The session will include discussions of the collaborative process of creating some of their favorite features and other various industry trends taking place across the world of 3D content creation in 2020.

“Through our virtual events we want to continue to encourage creativity and connection while providing a platform for valuable industry insights to our customers and extended community,” commented Foundry’s director of worldwide field marketing and alliances, Jennifer Goldfinch. “Since we moved to a virtual platform in March, we’ve connected with more than 25,000 artists and enthusiasts across VFX and CG, from around the world. Our summer Foundry Live event will showcase much awaited product and market updates for our current and future users and discuss the largest trends we are seeing in our industry.”

For more information and to register for Foundry Live, click here.

Source: Foundry

randomness