Search form

‘Forky Asks a Question,’ ‘Big Mouth’s Maya Rudolph Take Home Animation Emmys

Awards for short form animated program, character voice-over and derivative interactive program, as well as previously announced individual achievement in animation and motion design, were presented last night on the fourth evening of the 2020 Creative Arts Emmy Awards.

Genndy Tartakovsky’s Primal took home three Emmy’s to lead the winners last night, as the Television Academy presented the fourth of its five 2020 Creative Arts Emmy Awards ceremonies honoring outstanding artistic and technical achievement in television. For the second consecutive evening, the ceremony awarded talented artists and craftspeople in the categories of Scripted Programming.

Pixar’s Forky Asks a Question and Netflix’s Big Mouth also received top honors; the Bob Peterson directed Forky piece, “What is Love” got the nod for best animated short, while Maya Rudolph took the voice-over award for her work as Connie the Hormone Monster.

The ceremony was hosted by Emmy-nominated host Nicole Byer and featured presenters including Monica Aldama (Cheer), Jeff Bridges (The Old Man), Jerry Harris (Cheer), Gabriel Iglesias (Mr. Iglesias), Dylan McDermott (Hollywood), Erin Moriarty (The Boys), Lamorne Morris (Woke), Leslie Odom Jr. (Central Park) and Wanda Sykes (Crank Yankers; The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel).

The 2020 Creative Arts Emmy Awards are being streamed on for four consecutive nights, Monday, Sept. 14, through Thursday, Sept. 17, at 8:00 p.m. EDT/5:00 p.m. PDT with a fifth broadcast ceremony on Saturday, Sept. 19, at 8:00 p.m. EDT/5:00 p.m. PDT on FXX. Winners' names are known only by Ernst & Young LLP until they are revealed to the director of the Emmys ceremony as the show is airing. All five shows are produced by Bob Bain Productions.

Here are some of the awards presented last night:

Outstanding Short Form Animated Program awards were presented to the following show and artists:

  • Forky Asks a Question: What is Love?, Disney+ - Bob Peterson, Director/Writer, Mark Nielsen, Producer

Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance award was presented to the following show and artist:

  • Big Mouth, “How to Have an Orgasm,” Netflix - Maya Rudolph as Connie the Hormone Monstress

Outstanding Derivative Interactive Program awards were presented to the following show and artists:

  • Big Mouth Guide to Life, Netflix, Social Life | Part of the Jellyfish Group

Previously announced winners presented on Night 4 include:

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation awards were presented to the following shows and artists:

  • Archer, “Road Trip,” FX Networks; FX Productions - Jill Dykxhoorn, Lead Background Artist
  • Cosmos: Possible Worlds, “Vavilov,” National Geographic; Possible Worlds LLC in association with FOX - Dan MacKenzie, Character Animator
  • Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal, “Spear and Fang,” Adult Swim; Cartoon Network Studios - Genndy Tartakovsky, Storyboard Artist
  • Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal, “Spear and Fang,” Adult Swim; Cartoon Network Studios -Scott Wills, Art Director
  • Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal, “A Cold Death,” Adult Swim; Cartoon Network Studios - Stephen DeStefano, Character Designer

Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal received three awards for Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation; this is the fourth Emmy awarded to the iconic Russian born animator who is known for numerous iconic TV series including Dexter’s Laboratory, which was based on a student film he produced while at CalArts; The Power Puff Girls; and the series, Samurai Jack, one of his most acclaimed projects. He is also the creative force behind Sony Pictures Animation’s hit Hotel Transylvania movie franchise.

This is the second Emmy for Archer, with the award going to Jill Dykxhoorn, lead background artist. In 2016, the popular adult comedy animated series was honored with Outstanding Animated Program. Since debuting in 2009, It has received an additional 5 Emmy nominations.

Outstanding Motion Design was presented to the following show and artists:

  • Inside Bill's Brain: Decoding Bill Gates, Netflix; A Concordia Studio Production - Leanne Dare, creative director; Eben McCue, animator; Sebastian Hoppe-Fuentes, animator; David Navas, animator

This was Leanne Dare’s second Emmy win, having won in the same category in 2017 for Netflix’s Forward Movement. This was the first win for Eben McCue, Sebastian Hoppe-Fuentes and David Navas.

Juried categories require all entrants to be screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer group with the possibility of one, more than one or no entry being awarded an Emmy. Therefore, there are no nominees but instead a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant's work with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy.

Source: The Television Academy