Search form

Five Animated Features, Two Series Earn PGA Noms

Tie puts 11 titles -- including ‘Dunkirk,’ ‘The Shape of Water’ and ‘Wonder Woman’ -- in contention for top feature award.

LOS ANGELES -- The 29th annual Producers Guild Awards nominated five films for outstanding animated movie and two animated television series -- Disney Junior’s Doc McStuffins and Nick’s SpongeBob SquarePants -- for the award for outstanding children’s program.

The nominees in the category for the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for outstanding producer of theatrical motion pictures included a tie, so for the first time the Producers Guild of America presents 11 nominees in that category.

Nominations for the award for outstanding producer of animated theatrical motion pictures:

  • The Boss Baby -- Producer: Ramsey Naito
  • Coco -- Producer: Darla K. Anderson
  • Despicable Me 3 -- Producers: Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy
  • Ferdinand -- Producers: Lori Forte, Bruce Anderson
  • The LEGO Batman Movie -- Producers: Dan Lin, Phil Lord & Christopher Miller

Nominations for the award for outstanding children’s program:

  • Doc McStuffins (Season 4)
  • Nickelodeon Kids' Choice Awards 2017
  • School of Rock (Season 3)
  • Sesame Street (Season 47)
  • SpongeBob SquarePants (Season 10, Season 11)

The nominations for the Darryl F. Zanuck award for outstanding producer of theatrical motion pictures:

  • The Big Sick -- Producers: Judd Apatow, Barry Mendel
  • Call Me by Your Name -- Producers: Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Marco Morabito
  • Dunkirk -- Producers: Emma Thomas, Christopher Nolan
  • Get Out -- Producers: Sean McKittrick & Edward H. Hamm, Jr., Jason Blum, Jordan Peele
  • I, Tonya -- Producers: Bryan Unkeless, Steven Rogers, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley
  • Lady Bird -- Producers: Scott Rudin, Eli Bush, Evelyn O’Neill
  • Molly's Game -- Producers: Mark Gordon, Amy Pascal, Matt Jackson
  • The Post -- Producers: Amy Pascal, Steven Spielberg, Kristie Macosko Krieger
  • The Shape of Water -- Producers: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
  • Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri -- Producers: Graham Broadbent & Pete Czernin, Martin McDonagh
  • Wonder Woman -- Producers: Charles Roven & Richard Suckle, Zack Snyder & Deborah Snyder

Winners will be announced Jan. 20 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles.

Source: PGA

Thomas J. McLean's picture

Tom McLean has been writing for years about animation from a secret base in Los Angeles.